Refreshing Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used double the amount of water as lentils, so I didn't have to drain anything, and used a yellow onion instead of the red variety. Great tasting salad! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
HOLY MOLY!! This is an incredible salad! So fresh, it is very refreshing!! I made it as per instructions except minus the onion since I didn't have a red onion on hand and I am 45 miles from the grocery store but the flavor is FAB! If anyone complains that there isn't meat protein in this dish, serve it alongside some tuna and some bread with melted cheese on it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Such an awesome recipe - thank you for sharing!! Lentils were finished in 15 minutes FYI and I cooked them in chicken bouillon. I just made it and between me and my hubby it is now almost gone so next time I will definitely double it. I forgot the chili pepper and instead used a few shakes of ground red pepper. Used 1.5 lemons. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
YUMMY!!!! My 11 year old daughter and I just finished making this, and we could not stop "tasting" the warm salad waiting to go in the fridge. I did not have cilantro, though I am sure it would have made it taste even better. Didn't use olives, and put in one extra tomato and red and yellow bell pepper in place of the green. This is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Aptly named, this colorful lentil salad is indeed refreshing and delicious. I used quartered cherry tomatoes because that is what I had available and I did not bother with the hard boiled eggs. I’m always looking for a unique and tasty side to bring to a barbeque and this fits the bill. It is also wonderful as a light lunch served on a bed of lettuce with peak season sliced tomatoes layered with fresh mozzarella on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very good. I actually don't care for many of the ingredients, but together they are great. I cut down on the olive oil as I'm dieting, and added a bit of fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadowbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was an excellent lentil salad! I used cherry tomatoes instead of seeded Roma tomato and white onion instead of red. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I had guests who like to eat pretty much meatless so I made this. It was just fantastic. I have not used lentils before and am so glad I finally tried them. Delicious! THIS is going to be a regular for us now. Healthy and great tasting! I would not change a thing and I followed the directions except did add more liquid. Also, after we ate, I realized that I forgot the eggs. Oh well, was great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved this. Made a great summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States