Refreshing Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this last summer to take to a BBQ. Thankfully I doubled the recipe, there may have been 2 servings left. Very refreshing on a hot summer day. I did however slice the cucumber length wise and de-seeded, and sliced in chunkier pieces. Will make again this is a keeper and SOOOO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. The main picture makes it look like the salad has a lot of mayo, but it is just very lightly coated with a dressing. I used 3 leveled Tblsp. of light mayo. For the vegetables I sliced up one unpeeled English cucumber, 2 large roma tomatoes. I used white wine vinegar and I did just sprinkle on some pepper, to taste, as I don't care much for it. I don't like when vegetables get soft from vinegar, so I ate it after it was mixed. I will definitely make this again, but probably just cut the amount of red onion in half, as I don't care too much for a lot of raw onion in salads. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
i eyeballed the pepper but didnt use anywhere near 1/2 tsp i added some minced garlic too. this is a nice change to the plain vinegar and oil based cucumber salads. ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is a delicious and simple, summer recipe. I love to eat this as a light lunch or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is a delicious cuke salad. I did add about 1/4 tsp oregano and basil, and 1/2 tsp fresh chopped dill. I also added 1 Tbsp 2% milk, 1 Tbsp Splenda, and 1 Tbsp light sour cream. Whisked all the dressing together and put it with the cuke & onions into a gallon baggie. Mixes easier and I can turn it over periodically. I left out the tomatoes as I preferred it that way. Very nice salad. Thanks ShawnaRae for a nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious! Very refreshin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I would tweak this somewhat.I would leave out the mayo completely and use olive oil along with the vinegar,add some oregano or basil,or both,maybe some dill weed also. Instead of a regular large tomato,I would use romas thinly sliced,or cherry tomatoes either cut in half or left whole.I would use a regular white onion or yellow or vidalia if those were all I had on hand.(I do not buy red onions very often that is why I mentioned the onion change).I would also chill this for no more than one hour before serving.Note:the vinegar breaks down the mayo and this is why it gets runny when chilled.Avoid the mayo and go with the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Hooray! A delicious recipe without DAIRY! Even good with just cucumbers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I like this easy recipe alot. I felt it was missing something though. Maybe it was the onion I left out cause my husband doesn't like them. I will try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was tasty but I tweeked it a bit for our tastes. First I used 1 TBSP light mayo and 1 TBSP sour cream - the sour cream definitely gave it a good flavor that would have been lacking with only mayo. I also added in dill and a bit of celery seed. Also, next time I will not use any salt. I didn't think it needed any and felt the salt overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States