Refreshing Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe! I took the advice of soaking the cucumbers, red onion, and salt in the vinegar, and then drain it. It worked perfect. I used the cherry tomatoes from my garden plants and I think it worked better than a whole tomato would. Also, I used roughly one and a half tablespoons of salad dressing and one and a half tablespoons of sour cream and it was simply delicious. Definitely one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just a few personal preference alterations. Double the tomato, half the onion, use balsamic vinegar instead of white and add a tsp sugar. And if you want a touch of sweet, add 1/2 cup raisins. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Exactly that, just ok. Tasted a little bland and I added dill and other seasonings to it, tones down the harsh taste of a red onion but this would probably taste better in Italian dressing not mayonnaise based, but that would be a different recipe altogether, but perhaps add some flavor to the salad. I wanted to really like this but next time I will be using Italian dressing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I loved this! It is tasty as it is. I've tried it with mayo, miracle whip, and a combo. All of them work. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
One of my favorites...I use apple cider vinegar and peel the cucumbers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joiceez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was really unique and refreshing! It's best served cold. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated the cuc+onion in the vinegar and salt for about an hour, then drained and added the other ingredients. After letting them sit together for a couple more hours, I actually transferred the veggies to another bowl for serving, leaving behind a lot of the liquid. Still had great flavor but without the runny mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe was very bland and blah. It tasted like cucumbers & tomatoes with mayo. I used Hellman's mayo, maybe it would've been better to use Miracle Whip? I guess I'll never know because I won't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! I followed the advice about marinating the cucumber, onion and salt in 2 tbsp vinegar for one hour, then draining and adding the remaining ingredients - 1 tbsp olive oil mayo and 1 tbsp light sour cream. The cucumber stayed nice and crisp, unlike other recipes I've tried. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was a good salad, the sauce was a bit runny but all in all I enjoyed it. It was really easy to make and as a college student I found that it made for a good snack or side to a meal and was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States