Refreshing Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a good salad, but to prevent it from getting runny I always let the thin sliced cucumbers marinate in the vinegar (2 tbsp.) along with the salt and red onion for about an hour then drain it. I add the rest of the ingredients and let it chill for another hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! I used my food processer to slice everything, I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream and added fresh dill. My husband and son had seconds, which says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was really good. I usually don't like cucumber salads, but I loved this one. I added about 1/4 tsp. of sugar to the dressing and I didn't put the tomatoes in until I served it. This prevented the dressing from getting too runny. I also made it without the tomato and it was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I cant believe i was the first to rate this one! I was so good, perfect for a quick lunch. And boy, you got some amazing looking photos on your profile! PLEASE post some more of your recipes. All the ones on your profile looked to die for. PLEASE!!!!!!!!!! Love your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was so delicious i was practically drinking the leftover dressing from the bowl! Only made one change, 1TBS mayo and 1TBS sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. It was bland, and after refrigerating for a few hours the dressing became quite runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Yum, I have been looking for this recipe. I love the creamy veggies at Dickies & have been trying to figure out what they use. This tastes just like it. I will add garlic & dill next time. Didn't have any onions so I might also add onion powder. You can really play with this one to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was quick, easy and tasty. I used a yellow onion instead of a red one just because I did not have any red onions. Also, I uses the Hellmann's mayo made with olive oil. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
OMG!! This is the exact same salad my Grandma used to make. Thank you! I could never get the amounts right and this was perfect! However, I did make some changes due to personal taste as well as what was on hand. I made a Quadruple batch so I used 4 large cukes, 2 md white onions, 5 Roma tomatoes, 1 cup mayo, 4 Tbl white vinegar, 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp pepper and 1 tsp minced garlic. I highly suggest that you whisk the dressing stuff first...then pour over the veggies and carefully stir. Otherwise it's not going to mix very well, and it absolutely must sit for AT LEAST 1-2 hours before eating, plus this is even better the next day, as the flavors then have enough time to truly blend and set, especially after the water is pulled from the tomatoes (which is what some people think is "runny", but that is actually your "dressing" so don't drain it! It has all your flavors in it!). I must say though, you absolutely have to check/taste the cukes for wax if you buy from a grocery store. If you can't wash all the wax off, then you must peel them completely, or your salad will be extremely bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Just the recipe I was looking for! Next time I make this I will add some dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States