Refreshing Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this 3 times this past summer because (1) it tastes great and (2) I was using up my abundance of cucumber. It's a great way for cucumber lovers to expand its use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I loved this recipe! I took the advice of soaking the cucumbers, red onion, and salt in the vinegar, and then drain it. It worked perfect. I used the cherry tomatoes from my garden plants and I think it worked better than a whole tomato would. Also, I used roughly one and a half tablespoons of salad dressing and one and a half tablespoons of sour cream and it was simply delicious. Definitely one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just a few personal preference alterations. Double the tomato, half the onion, use balsamic vinegar instead of white and add a tsp sugar. And if you want a touch of sweet, add 1/2 cup raisins. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Exactly that, just ok. Tasted a little bland and I added dill and other seasonings to it, tones down the harsh taste of a red onion but this would probably taste better in Italian dressing not mayonnaise based, but that would be a different recipe altogether, but perhaps add some flavor to the salad. I wanted to really like this but next time I will be using Italian dressing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I loved this! It is tasty as it is. I've tried it with mayo, miracle whip, and a combo. All of them work. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
One of my favorites...I use apple cider vinegar and peel the cucumbers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joiceez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was really unique and refreshing! It's best served cold. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated the cuc+onion in the vinegar and salt for about an hour, then drained and added the other ingredients. After letting them sit together for a couple more hours, I actually transferred the veggies to another bowl for serving, leaving behind a lot of the liquid. Still had great flavor but without the runny mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe was very bland and blah. It tasted like cucumbers & tomatoes with mayo. I used Hellman's mayo, maybe it would've been better to use Miracle Whip? I guess I'll never know because I won't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! I followed the advice about marinating the cucumber, onion and salt in 2 tbsp vinegar for one hour, then draining and adding the remaining ingredients - 1 tbsp olive oil mayo and 1 tbsp light sour cream. The cucumber stayed nice and crisp, unlike other recipes I've tried. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States