Reduced Fat Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Holy cow, Stephanie. You outdid yourself on this one. I can hardly believe that so few ingredients are capable of turning out a soup with the rich and creamy taste that this soup has. It's a piece of cake to make and so amazingly good. It really tastes as if a master chef had prepared it for an upscale restaurant. I only have one caveat to share. I could not find the fat-free country style gravy mix. If anybody knows where this can be found or even what brand to look for, I would appreciate the help. I went to two different stores and still couldn't find the fat free stuff. So, I settled on Williams Brand Country Style Gravy Mix. For those of you that are nutritionally conscious, there are 15 fat calories per serving and 40 calories per serving in the package I used (37% of the gravy mix calories are fat calories). Though I'm not a dietician, with the no-fat potatoes and nearly fat-free chicken broth reducing the impact of the gravy mix's contribution to overall fat in the recipe, I suspect this is still an acceptable low-fat choice. Though I suppose you probably shouldn't have 2 1/2 large bowls like I just did. I couldn't help myself. Honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
***** + more. I followed the recipe exactly the first time. Very good. Thick soup. Want a thinner soup; add milk. If you don't have time and want a very fast potato soup, this is the recipe. Have more time and want a better tasting soup, use fresh potatoes. The second time I used fresh cubed potatoes, sliced baby carrots, one stalk celery and a little parsley. Excellent. This soup would be very good served in a bread bowl. It is a very good tasting basic recipe that you can make your own. The secret ingredient is the country gravy mix. If you don't like onion and red pepper for the original recipe, use hash browns without the onion and pepper for the fast version. Don't like carrots or celery for the fresh potato version, don't add. You could also add ham or cooked crumbled bacon at the end and warm through. I have been looking for a good potato soup without cheese for quite some time. I finally found it. If you want, you could add cheese to this soup also and it would be very good. Like I said, this is a very good basic soup that you can tweak to your own liking. Thank you Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This was great! Very filling! I didn't have any of the frozen hash browns, so I just used fresh potatoes, bell pepper, and onion, measuring out the 16 ounces total. It added a little time for chopping, but it worked out great. I did add a little parsley and some pepper and used fat free cheddar and chives since that's what I had. I will make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was all right. I found it a bit bland so I spiced it up with extra salt, pepper, and a cajun-type seasoning. It is not a bad soup, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This soup is great. I added extra onion flakes and garlic powder for more flavor. I also used a gravy mix with pepper. Compliments to Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was quick and easy! The peppers and onion in the frozen potatoes give it a nice flavor and the pepper in the gravy mix seasons it perfectly! We had it without the green onions and cheese and it was thick and delicious. I would make this again with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved this soup, the country gravy really made it unique. I used regular because I could not find fat free. I used a larger bag of hash browns and i think next time i would add more chicken broth and another gravy packet. I also plan on adding some diced ham next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This soup is great low-fat meal. It is very filling, and cheap to make. Spice it up to your liking, but either way you won't beleive the low amount of calories, for all of the flavor you get. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I couldn't find fat free gravy like other reviewers, so I ended up using McCormick's Original Country Gravy. WIth that change, it made the calories per serving around 160. However, I really don't think this recipe makes 6 servings, unless you're serving a few tablespoons of soup to each person. This makes more like 4 small servings. I also couldn't find a 16oz bag of hash browns, so I used a little more than a half bag of Ore-Ida O'Brien potatoes which comes in a 28oz bag. Given all that, this is a great recipe for how easy and quick it is to make! Very thick and creamy, perfect for a cool fall day. I didn't have to add any additional spices, but this of course, will depend on the brand of gravy you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States