Reduced Fat Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Easy to make and nice low fat alternative to regular cream based soups. Would work well for camping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Rated recipe as is. This was very good and as others said, it can be customized to what you want. I got 4 main dish servings out of it and added extra milk, since it is pretty thick. I also added more onion, celery and 1 chicken bouillon cube. You could easily use plain cubed frozen or fresh potatoes & add your choice of veggies. The gravy mix I used was heavy on pepper so taste before you add black or white pepper. Couldn't find fat free gravy mix. Thanks, Steph from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this twice and it was delicious!! You could not tell at all that it was low fat and it was so quick and easy to make! My daughter and husband both loved it too. Only changes I made was using the 20oz bag of hash browns and 3 14.5 oz cans of broth, 2 packs of country 1.3oz packets of gravy. My husband and daughter both added real bacon bits and extra cheese but I kept it healthy and pretty much stuck to the recipe! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My fiancé and I just made this soup as our rainy day lunch. It was fantastic and super easy! This will be repeated at our house a lot!! At our grocery store, the hash browns come in a 20oz package and the broth comes in 14oz cans, but the recipe still came out perfectly using those as is. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a great easy soup to prepare after working a long day. It seemed to lack something so my additions of a 10oz pkg of chopped frozen broccoli, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, 1 T. chives, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 3/4 cup of the cheddar melted in the soup elevated it to quite delicious. The chives were totally necessary IMO to take it to the next level. The gravy mix is brilliant to create that yummy, creamy texture potato soup must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I couldn't find fat free gravy like other reviewers, so I ended up using McCormick's Original Country Gravy. WIth that change, it made the calories per serving around 160. However, I really don't think this recipe makes 6 servings, unless you're serving a few tablespoons of soup to each person. This makes more like 4 small servings. I also couldn't find a 16oz bag of hash browns, so I used a little more than a half bag of Ore-Ida O'Brien potatoes which comes in a 28oz bag. Given all that, this is a great recipe for how easy and quick it is to make! Very thick and creamy, perfect for a cool fall day. I didn't have to add any additional spices, but this of course, will depend on the brand of gravy you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Quick and easy- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I added some vegetables to the recipe and then served this to guests, and everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afinerosesheis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
delicious! to me it tastes more like chicken pot pie soup, therefore next time i might add peas and carrots. anyhow, it is a great base and you can it as is or add whatever you like to it. keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States