Reduced Fat Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this twice and it was delicious!! You could not tell at all that it was low fat and it was so quick and easy to make! My daughter and husband both loved it too. Only changes I made was using the 20oz bag of hash browns and 3 14.5 oz cans of broth, 2 packs of country 1.3oz packets of gravy. My husband and daughter both added real bacon bits and extra cheese but I kept it healthy and pretty much stuck to the recipe! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My fiancé and I just made this soup as our rainy day lunch. It was fantastic and super easy! This will be repeated at our house a lot!! At our grocery store, the hash browns come in a 20oz package and the broth comes in 14oz cans, but the recipe still came out perfectly using those as is. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a great easy soup to prepare after working a long day. It seemed to lack something so my additions of a 10oz pkg of chopped frozen broccoli, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, 1 T. chives, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 3/4 cup of the cheddar melted in the soup elevated it to quite delicious. The chives were totally necessary IMO to take it to the next level. The gravy mix is brilliant to create that yummy, creamy texture potato soup must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I couldn't find fat free gravy like other reviewers, so I ended up using McCormick's Original Country Gravy. WIth that change, it made the calories per serving around 160. However, I really don't think this recipe makes 6 servings, unless you're serving a few tablespoons of soup to each person. This makes more like 4 small servings. I also couldn't find a 16oz bag of hash browns, so I used a little more than a half bag of Ore-Ida O'Brien potatoes which comes in a 28oz bag. Given all that, this is a great recipe for how easy and quick it is to make! Very thick and creamy, perfect for a cool fall day. I didn't have to add any additional spices, but this of course, will depend on the brand of gravy you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Quick and easy- will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I added some vegetables to the recipe and then served this to guests, and everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afinerosesheis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
delicious! to me it tastes more like chicken pot pie soup, therefore next time i might add peas and carrots. anyhow, it is a great base and you can it as is or add whatever you like to it. keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Loved it, the kids loved it. I made it as is, just added some ham and roasted red peppers after addign the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was super easy & very tasty! I also could not find the fat-free country style gravy so had to use the regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States