Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. I use jalapeno peppers as well as cayenne peppers which I grow in my garden. Serve this over a block of cream cheese with crackers for an easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
As another reviewers experience, I also thought this to be was too vinegary. I'm glad that I tried it first before I gave some away as gifts. It could be that I'm not use to taste of apple cider vinegar. I will stick to my other recipe but did like your idea and the pictures submitted do look pretty neat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was so easy and yummy! It looked really pretty for holiday gifts. I think I will make it a tad spicier next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
If I could give this 10 stars I would!!! I printed the recipe 3 years ago...I better finally review it. I followed the recipe exactly except instead of green pepper I used red, yellow and orange all mixed together. I left in half of the jalapeno seeds for some heat too. I also add red food coloring to make it more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
sooo sooo good. The only change I made was to increase the amount of jalapeno and decrease (slightly) the amount of bell because I have a high tolerance and wanted it spicy. Not only did my husband love it as well, but guests who had it begged for the jars I had left and said I should mass produce and sell at farmers markets. I think that means it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Just put up my second batch of this jelly. Wow! Followed instructions exactly in batch one: Very yummy, suitable for everyone! For batch 2: Added 1 small habenaro pepper, as well many of the seeds from the jalapenos ~ holy smokes! Super nice kick, hubby said it's the best he's ever tasted! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheyenne Schweikert
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I was scared to try canning, but this was easy. I made sure to wear gloves and a scarf to keep from burning my hands, nose, or lungs. I'm going to make some more batches, some spicier to give as gifts. I used the Ball canning guide to help with the particulars of canning. The guide came in the box of Pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is just delicious. I made two batches in two days for Christmas gifts and they both turned out perfectly. I always try to follow the recipe the same way it was written and the only thing I changed was that I used frozen red and green peppers instead of spending all the time chopping. I just put them in a fine strainer and let them strain for about 5 minutes in case they were extra juicy. Other than that I used the exact amounts and cooking times and I was only 20 minutes from start to finish. They look beautiful in their bottles and are ready for a pretty topper and into their gift bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for the first time one week ago. Easy recipe but was a tad too sweet. I decided to try it again yesterday. This time I used 5 jalapenos, one large red pepper and 3 shakes of crushed red pepper. Much better this time. The sweetness was gone but it was not so hot that you couldn't eat it. I plan to make a 3rd batch and will add yet another jalapeno. Quick and easy recipe. Makes great gift for give-aways during the holidays. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My daughter and I made this today....easy to do We doubled the recipe without a problem. Had to watch the boiling because of the amount but otherwise everything went well. Used liquid pectin as stated. The recipe filled 12 1 cup or 250ml jars. I used 3 lg red peppers and 5 jalapeno peppers Left in half of the seeds for a little more heat. Drained the red peppers for about 20 min. So thank you Marbalet for a wonderful Xmas recipe we will be making for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States