Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is THE BEST ever!!! My family loves it. Can never make enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and used 3/4 c. of assorted diced hot peppers. I used Thai Bird's Eye peppers, one jalapeno and a habanero. The jelly came out hot and delicious. My jelly had a lot of unattractive tiny air bubbles in it though. I've had numerous jelly failures but never that one so I don't know what I did wrong. One pectin for half a batch was more than enough. It set up well and very quickly. It might have set up so quickly because the peppers I used were very dry. I think that had something to do with getting tiny bubbles? (The jelly started setting up before I got it in the jar.) It's not the recipe's fault so I still have to give it 5 stars for taste. But I probably won't make it again until I figure out why the jelly is so bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Best jalapeno jelly I've ever made! So quick and easy. I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe! I have made it several times. I used the hint about tying up some of the seeds and ribs from the hot peppers in a spice bag. This adds a little more heat. You can also tinker with the hot pepper varieties. Adding some Serrano peppers added a nice bit of extra heat. Delicious on hot biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow ! Just became my favorite jelly for gift giving ! I made 2 batches. The first batch I followed exactly and it turned out beautiful. The second batch I wanted to have more of a kick so I actually left some of the seeds in (couldn't find my cheesecloth or teaball).It turned out with the kick I wanted and, truly, the seeds don't take away from it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious! But it didn't work for me the first time. I followed directions exactly but jelly didn't set. Put jelly back in the pot and boiled another 5 min, made sure temp rose above 220 degrees, added more certo pectin, and poured into re-sterilized jars. Second time was a charm, I have nice firm set jelly that tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We made a batch last night, it smells like vinager this morning. Not sure what to think... If the vinager odor does not go away (dont think it will) we shall start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very tasty and so easy. I added some hot pepper flakes for extra punch. This recipe makes 12 125ml jars and will make a nice addition to my gift baskets. it will taste great with cheese and crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this recipe it is so easy to follow. This is the second year I have made it for gifts and I had no problems it was so easy to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I decided to make this as close to the original recipe for my first go around with the only exception of adding veins and seeds. (in a tea ball so I could remove it.) I'm not sure why others had trouble setting as mine was stiff as could be. Like a really hard jello from the hospital. The peppers were perfectly dispersed without any need to flip jars upside down. It was also very sweet and didn't taste like peppers at all. I decided to try again using half as much pectin and sub the bell pepper for jalepenos. It was still too stiff for my taste but the spiciness was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States