Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We made a batch last night, it smells like vinager this morning. Not sure what to think... If the vinager odor does not go away (dont think it will) we shall start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very tasty and so easy. I added some hot pepper flakes for extra punch. This recipe makes 12 125ml jars and will make a nice addition to my gift baskets. it will taste great with cheese and crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this recipe it is so easy to follow. This is the second year I have made it for gifts and I had no problems it was so easy to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I decided to make this as close to the original recipe for my first go around with the only exception of adding veins and seeds. (in a tea ball so I could remove it.) I'm not sure why others had trouble setting as mine was stiff as could be. Like a really hard jello from the hospital. The peppers were perfectly dispersed without any need to flip jars upside down. It was also very sweet and didn't taste like peppers at all. I decided to try again using half as much pectin and sub the bell pepper for jalepenos. It was still too stiff for my taste but the spiciness was there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I used a cup and a half of jalapeno, omitting the red pepper. I removed all seeds and ribs - next time I will leave the ribs to add some heat as this was very mild. Good jelly and I received numerous compliments. I'll definitely make more. WEAR GLOVES!!! I didn't even think about it as I have chopped jalapenos before with no issue, but not in this large amount. It came on very gradually but my fingers were on fire all afternoon and night. This was after washing them repeatedly, applying aloe, soaking in milk, cleaning with alcohol then Goop, applying A&D ointment (don't do this), pressing lemon/juice onto them and finally resting in sour cream. Not a joke folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the directions exactly and it was fantastic. The second time I only had powdered pectin so I used it. The results were still great. Easy and looks so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Yummy! I substituted one Jalokia pepper ('cause that's what I grew) seeded for all the jalapenos. Just right heat/ sweetness balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
AMAZING!! I added food coloring to it to make it look at little more festive! My first time preserving jelly and everything went nicely, just followed the direction as stated. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Currituck, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I first used this recipe to make Christmas gifts a few years ago. Since then I have people offering to buy it from me. Everyone just loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States