Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by AngelCurl
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love this jelly and so pretty!! And, it tastes great! I, like other readers, left some of the seeds and membranes in the jalapenos and the heat is perfect for us (we don't like things too spicy). Other than that change I followed the recipe exactly as written. I tried it on a biscuit because I don't have any cream cheese in the house, but I'm heading to the store tomorrow to get some and try on onion crackers. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelCurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm not sure why other reviewers are having trouble with the peppers staying suspended in the jelly. I diced my peppers in a food processor and then placed two layers of paper towels in a colander and let it absorb some of the water. Also if your jelly doesn't set be sure that you use TWO packets of Sure Jell because the recipe calls for six ounces. One packet is only three ounces. I made two batches of this today and they both turned out perfect. I used red, orange and yellow for my bell peppers and also added a habanero to the jalapenos for each batch. I plan on making more of this, and soon! Very tasty and very easy recipe. I'm hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Excellent! We make batches of this along with our salsa (since we already have peppers, jalapenos, vinegar and sugar out). It's ALWAYS a hit, and won me the Best Dish at a family reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This jelly is FANTASTIC! I have never made or eaten jalapeno jelly before, so with the wonderful crop of jalapenos that I got this year I thought I'd give it a go, and was glad I did! I made it exactly as written, aside from chopping the peppers by hand ( I was afraid that they would get too mushy) and adding none of the seeds from the red pepper, but all of the seeds (and veins) from the jalapenos. This came together in a snap and set up beautifully (I did decide to process the jars for 10 mins. just to ensure that they would seal properly). I had no issue with the peppers setteling to the bottom, they were nice and distributed throughout. We are loving the sweet/heat combination. I was able to get almost 6 1/2 pint jars out of this recipe. This will definately be a yearly canning staple in our house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Icepc
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used this recipe for my 1ST ATTEMPT ever at making jelly, this has turned out amazing,I have now been asked by co-workers to make some using Serrano and Habanero peppers. thanks for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icepc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I used this recipe as the basis for making cayenne jelly spread (I grow my own cayenne). I added a little more bell peppers, one jalapenos, and about 4 fresh cayenne peppers. I lightly processed them so it wasn't like a paste.....more like salsa. I also used one package of powder pectin. I would maybe add another half pack if you want a it to be more gel-like. Mine, with one package, was like syrup, but great over a bagel and cream cheese or in a chicken sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! It's the first time I've made jalapeno jelly and it turned out excellent - so pretty - excited to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
OMG.. Just outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This jelly is WONDERFUL!!! i've made it many many times to take to work and to can. i don't think i'll try anything other then this jelly it works perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States