Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made it last year and ppl raved so, I'm attempting it again this year. I found the recipe now having a year of canning experience under my belt. My advic - follow the directions inside the pectin box but, follow the other measurements of ingredients from the Allrecipes one AND WRITE DOWN WHAT YOU DID SO YOU CAN REPRODUCE IT IF IT WORKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Nieminen
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is the best ever! I did not change anything. I am running out of the 12 jars I made. I use it on almost everything. Tastes amazing on pork, chicken and even beef. Don't let it just go on crackers and cream cheese ( or Brie, or Goat Cheese) Huge hit! Will definitely be making this MANY time and keeping in my book !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Nieminen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It's so pretty! My first time canning anything and all my jars sealed! I love that "pop"! Admittedly, I haven't opened one of the jars yet, but a "finger-through-the-remnants-in-the-pan" test tasted great. I got 12 4-oz jars from this recipe. After reading the reviews and doing a lot of research online, I did the following: * Followed exact quantities per the recipe. Per one of the reviews, I had the peppers at room temperture. Not sure that helped with the disbursement of the peppers, but the peppers are suspended beautifully without having to do the flip tip mentioned in some reviews. Another tip I followed was to put the veins and seeds of a few of the jalepeno peppers (maybe 4) in a tea ball and put in the jelly while cooking. You get the heat but can easily remove the seeds and veins from the final product so your jelly looks beautiful. * After buying the wrong kind of pectin...TWICE...I finally found liquid pectin at my local grocery. Research online said not to substitute the power for the liquid. The jelly was setting up before I got all the jars filled. I'm in NC so didn't have to make any altitude adjustments. The liquid pectin kept the jelly crystal clear. I understand that powder pectin may have caused the jelly to be cloudy. * After filling all the jars, I processed them in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes. The jelly looks to have set in the cooled jars. The jelly is a beautiful clear amber color with red and green peppers suspended throughtout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this several times and it's always a hit, even with people who don't like spicy food! There is just enough heat, it's not overkill. I've substituted the red peppers with green peppers or cubanelle peppers, whatever we have extra of from the garden. The finished product is always as beautiful as it is tasty. There have been times where the jelly sets with the peppers suspended perfectly, and times I've needed to invert several times every half hour to make sure they are dispersed evenly. I can't quite figure out why it does that, but it's an easy fix. For extra kick, add an extra jalapeno, or leave in all the jalapeno seeds and ribs. Oh, and use gloves when chopping the jalapenos. Just in case you rub your eye later in the day and haven't quite gotten all of the oil off of your hands after washing. Ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
For those who have mentioned that your hands burned. Take a large bowl and put some ice in it, then put another bowl on top of the ice, pour in straight apple cider vinegar and put your hands in the vinegar until the burning subsides. Im allergic to them and that works very well. Its also what poison control will tell you to do for jalapeno burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. Tastes good and nice presentation. I canned a lot of this jelly. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I doubled the Jalapenos and cut the pectin in half. My first batch set so well it was like dried caulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WLS967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe is just the right amount of sweet and heat. I followed the ingredients exactly. The only thing I did differently was to put the peppers and vinegar in the food process and blend to a puree. The rest I followed exactly. By making the puree 1st, it suspended evenly through out the jelly for the perfect taste combination. Thank you Marbalet for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff Ruffner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely to die for. Wonderful appetizer with cream cheese and crackers. I like to make it for gifts using the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States