Red Wine Reduction Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Randy knows what he is talking about! Fantastic reduction! One suggestion for a richer sauce, after reducing, melt in 1 pat of butter and stir until creamy smooth. Fantastic with a standing rib roast! Also try this, my favorite with this reduction! Carmalize fresh sliced mushrooms and thinly sliced red onions in a little butter and olive oil. Spoon over steak or roast slices and pour some reduction over all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This reduction is awesome!!! It takes a little time to make, but is definitely worth it. My husbamd makes a special rub for filet mignon, then makes this reduction. Oh My Goodness...heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I like what Terri did with this and took it a step further, as it was reducing i added a bunch of rainbow chard to it and a little salt and braised it for a bit....removed the chard and served it over the filets with the reduction when it was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimfo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
yum! Loved it as it, but I also took another members adivce and swirled in some cold butter at the end to make it even richer! So tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My husband and I have been searching a long time for the perfect red wine sauce to go on top of any steak and we have found it! I followed the recipe exactly and the result was spectacular. It was the best steak sauce I have ever made or paid for, and it is not that hard. I put the sauce on top of a filet with sautéed onions & cremini mushrooms and as gravy for the mashed potatoes, it was perfect. I would definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This sauce is fantastic!!! I will make time and time again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Fantastic and simple...didn't even have to use that many veggies and then put veggies in a pasta rather than discarding them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I just made this and it came out perfect! I did add butter at the end of cooking as noted in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good! I am making a beef tenderloin and a prime rib on xmas eve and I wanted a sauce that I could make ahead. I read that you can make a reduction and refrigerate it two days ahead. I used beef consomme because I had no broth. I only used one can of consomme, but doubled everything else. I ended up with about a cup. I couldn't throw out the veggies, so I threw some pecans, cream cheese, parm and seasoning in them, took out my Cuisinart stick and made two veggie "pates" that my 14 year old and 18 year old approved of. My son gives this sauce 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was the perfect reduction. I didn't have any shallots or mushrooms (sadly because I love them) but used some celery and it still came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States