Red Wine Reduction Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Randy knows what he is talking about! Fantastic reduction! One suggestion for a richer sauce, after reducing, melt in 1 pat of butter and stir until creamy smooth. Fantastic with a standing rib roast! Also try this, my favorite with this reduction! Carmalize fresh sliced mushrooms and thinly sliced red onions in a little butter and olive oil. Spoon over steak or roast slices and pour some reduction over all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My husband and I have been searching a long time for the perfect red wine sauce to go on top of any steak and we have found it! I followed the recipe exactly and the result was spectacular. It was the best steak sauce I have ever made or paid for, and it is not that hard. I put the sauce on top of a filet with sautéed onions & cremini mushrooms and as gravy for the mashed potatoes, it was perfect. I would definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I'm a bit surprised by the number of numerous 4-5 star ratings on this sauce. I was not satisfied at all with it. It was way too sweet for me and it lacked the complexity that I was expecting from all of the ingredients that went into it. I have made spur of the moment pan reductions that had more flavor and nuance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was the perfect reduction. I didn't have any shallots or mushrooms (sadly because I love them) but used some celery and it still came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was quite tasty. I think I'll change up the veggie mix a little next time, but it came out strong and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is a delicious recipe. I have changed it up a little by using olive oil for the saute, then adding only a TB butter at the end to finish it with a beautiful sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was AWESOME drizzled over beef wellington. I've always been told to cook with wine you would also drink, so I used a shiraz/cab blend that I sipped on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good! I am making a beef tenderloin and a prime rib on xmas eve and I wanted a sauce that I could make ahead. I read that you can make a reduction and refrigerate it two days ahead. I used beef consomme because I had no broth. I only used one can of consomme, but doubled everything else. I ended up with about a cup. I couldn't throw out the veggies, so I threw some pecans, cream cheese, parm and seasoning in them, took out my Cuisinart stick and made two veggie "pates" that my 14 year old and 18 year old approved of. My son gives this sauce 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This sauce is fantastic!!! I will make time and time again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Tomorrow we are having barbecued grass-fed beef steaks; I will be making this sauce to go with. Not tried it yet, sounds great, will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States