Red Wine Reduction Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Tomorrow we are having barbecued grass-fed beef steaks; I will be making this sauce to go with. Not tried it yet, sounds great, will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Randy knows what he is talking about! Fantastic reduction! One suggestion for a richer sauce, after reducing, melt in 1 pat of butter and stir until creamy smooth. Fantastic with a standing rib roast! Also try this, my favorite with this reduction! Carmalize fresh sliced mushrooms and thinly sliced red onions in a little butter and olive oil. Spoon over steak or roast slices and pour some reduction over all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I like what Terri did with this and took it a step further, as it was reducing i added a bunch of rainbow chard to it and a little salt and braised it for a bit....removed the chard and served it over the filets with the reduction when it was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimfo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
yum! Loved it as it, but I also took another members adivce and swirled in some cold butter at the end to make it even richer! So tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My husband and I have been searching a long time for the perfect red wine sauce to go on top of any steak and we have found it! I followed the recipe exactly and the result was spectacular. It was the best steak sauce I have ever made or paid for, and it is not that hard. I put the sauce on top of a filet with sautéed onions & cremini mushrooms and as gravy for the mashed potatoes, it was perfect. I would definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This sauce is fantastic!!! I will make time and time again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This reduction is awesome!!! It takes a little time to make, but is definitely worth it. My husbamd makes a special rub for filet mignon, then makes this reduction. Oh My Goodness...heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Fantastic and simple...didn't even have to use that many veggies and then put veggies in a pasta rather than discarding them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I just made this and it came out perfect! I did add butter at the end of cooking as noted in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good, but a lengthy process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States