Red Wine Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This pork roast was fantastic. I followed the recipe and the roast was very tender and flavorful. The gravy was very rich and tasty, and the bacon grease adds so much flavor. Everyone raved about it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDGE55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was very good - cooked perfectly - the wine/mushroom sauce was yummy - I used a hearty burgundy wine and it was really good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Vinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My first time baking pork tenderloin & this recipe was delicious! I followed the recipe as written and enjoyed every last bite. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this recipe adding a bit more of wine and it was absolutely delicious, even for a non experienced cooker as I am this was almost perfect! I would leave the pork marinating for some time or maybe cook slower to make the pork absorb the sauce better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide to make red wine boneless pork chops. I skipped the bacon drippings, butter, bay leaf and carrots. I cooked the mushrooms in half a cup of red wine until they were soft and then put them in a bowl along with another cup of red wine, the garlic, parsley, 1/4 tsp salt, pepper, tomato paste, and sugar. I then browned the chops in a little bit of olive oil and poured the mixture over them. Cooked it all on medium low heat for about 20-30 minutes. The chops were extremely tender and flavorful. I was really impressed how the red wine tenderized the meat. I’ll have to try it with a roast some time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Quite good, but I only added 1 tablespoon of butter and probably shouldn't have added that because there was quite a bit of grease, so 4 stars are given because 1/4 cup of butter plus the bacon grease would have been wayyy too much, in my opinion. Served over egg noodles. Made with a $4 cabernet wine and would like to try again with a somewhat sweeter wine. Now...how do I get the pan clean? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have made this recipe twice now to fantastic results. I used a Beaujolais that paired wonderfully with the pork. I also used a bone in roast that created a "sweeter" taste to the meat. The pan sauce created a wonderful rich gravy that everyone loved. I increase the amount of mushrooms as they cook down quite a bit and the vegetables were just a popular as the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Yum! Yum! Yum! This turned out terrific! Very moist and tender. I didn't have any red wine so I used sherry. I also didn't have mushrooms so I just left them out. I cooked it with a cover although it didn't say to do so. Next time, I'll use foil as the lid got really dirty, Definately a keeper and I am not a big meat eater. I may use a variation of the recipe just for the carrots sometimes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe has to find more cooks! I had a plain sirloin pork roast that i was cooking and wanted to do something different. since there was no bone, I wanted there to be some juice for it to be moist. Oh my goodness, is this the best! I had no time to do the bacon part so skipped that, I had no tomatoe paste so used extra tomatoe sauce and used dried parsley instead of fresh, otherwise followed directions exactly. my picky 9 yr old loved it as did myself and my husband. This is a fabulous way to prepare pork and I recommend it for anyone who reads these, do not be shy that only 10 people have rated this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We did not care for this at all. I made it for a dinner party and NO ONE enjoyed it. It just had no flavor at all. The sauce helped a tad - a waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States