Red Wine Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was an "oh-my-gosh" dish. I served it with noodles, but the family got bread to soak up the juice, it was that good. I was worried that the salt was too much but it cooked into the meat and was perfect. The recipe didn't say whether to cover the meat or not when cooking, so I covered it with foil for the first part of cooking, then left it off after I put the mushrooms in. Came out better than expected. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Sorry, but I don't know what all the fuss is about. I followed the directions totally, but my roast was still pink after the time stated. Perhaps my pan was too big, but the juices were barely enough to cover the bottom after about one hour, so I needed to add more liquid to keep from burning. The best part about this was the carrots. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Used 1/2 jar of tomato sauce instead of tomato paste and skipped the bacon drippings bc we didn't have any bacon... Topped it on chicken and baked it for about 45 mins at 350. SO GOOD!!! My guy hates wine, but LOVED this sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alchemist25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was the best pork loin to ever come from my oven. The only change I made was the addition of some chopped, fresh rosemary. This will be part of my regular repertoire of main dishes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertRat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint David, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was pretty good... the sauce was very flavorful, I loved the combination of mushrooms and wine with the seasonings... I wasn't too sure about the combination of tomato paste + carrots and the rest... but I loved that part of it...unfortunately the roast was a tad dry. I sliced up the leftovers and heated in the sauce which I supplemented with a cup of beef bouillon because I wanted more of the meat submerged and that seemed to tenderize it a little. I would be tempted to try this as a beef dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Easy and great meal...can add onion and peppers to make complete. Serve with rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
A fantastic recipe!!!....I used really good red wine and it made all the difference.....cook with what you would drink yourself....I omitted the sugar because you did not need it....will be enjoying this for years to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I changed things up to make do with what I had on hand. I had 1" thick chops, so I coated them with a mixture of flour, salt and pepper. I used olive oil rather than bacon drippings, to brown the chops on all sides. (I did all this in a cast iron skillet.) After browning the chops I removed them to a plate, and made the sauce. I used a very sweet (dessert) wine, so I eliminated the need to add the sugar. I also substituted dried parsley for fresh. I had some canned mushrooms here (which was disappointing; I would have preferred fresh). None the less, I drained them and made them the last addition to the sauce, before adding the chops back in and spooning sauce over them. I popped the skillet in the oven for 30 minutes. In hind sight, I would have only popped them in for 20-25 minutes. Overall, this rendition of the recipes was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very, very tasty! The sauce is amazing. I made this with a butt roast (shoulder) which was a mistake as it needed to slow cook for hours. Next time I will make with a roast cut. I also agree with the other reviewer who said to add more carrots...you can easily double or triple the number of carrots. I did not dice mine as the recipe says, just sliced into chunks. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States