Red Wine Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My husband made this for our at home date. This is the best thing I have EVER tasted. He used La Vielle Ferme red wine which was like $8. Don't know if that matters. Seriously, I want this every night for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Kudos to Harriet! I was looking for a recipe on this site for a pork roast that didn't involved BBQ sauce. This one was excellent (!) and my husband told me to be sure and save it. I followed the recipe for the most part; added some chopped potatoes and apples when I put in the carrots because I need to eat more vegetables/fruit. Used an Argentinian Malbec as my red wine, plus a little water so I would have plenty of au jus. Don't replace the bacon grease or butter as they create the wonderful flavor in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Great recipe for pork roast. My husband said it was restaurant quality and he can be fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious and the family all loved it! As a matter of preference, I don't typically use sugar when I am cooking if I can avoid it, so I added an onion (which has its own natural sweetness instead). I also decided to roast potatoes in the roasting pan with the carrots and pork, which were wonderfully delicious with that scrumptious sauce that is given above. You may want to consider allowing for a little more sauce if you put potatoes as they absorb a good bit of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very easy! I ended up adding more carrots (just used baby carrots) and onions. I melted the butter with the garlic and threw all of it in a ziploc bag in the fridge for about 4 hours. Then I poured it in a crockpot and let it cook on high for a few hours. The pork was so tender! My 5-year-old had three servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this in my new pressure cooker since I wanted to try it out. I added a lot more carrots and garlic than called for and also added onion and celery. I sauteed the mushrooms in the bacon grease since I don't care for boiled mushrooms. I omitted the tomato paste as I didn't have any but I can see how it would add to the complexity of the flavor. The flavor of the cooking liquid didn't get into the meat very much at all but I might try marinating the roast next time. The veggies, on the other hand, were absolutely delicious. DOn't be afraid to use lots and lots of carrots since they are delightful - I added 5 large carrots and I think next time I'd add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The whole family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
3.5 Stars: I liked this more than anyone else in my house. The meat did not pick up a lot of flavor. IF I make it again, I will marinate it overnight. The carrots did not get done, either. I did not use mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Amazing recipe!! I have never seen a roast disappear so fast!! Me, my hubby, and his best friend just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colorblindrainbow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I tried this. It was ok, but not great! If I ever made it again, I would probably use less tomato paste. Good, but not great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States