Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
We just finished (and I mean finished) eating this for dinner and I just had to review immediately. This recipe makes the most incredible gravy! I did brown the roast on the stove first, and I followed the lead of some of the other reviews; full package of soup, rosemary and a bay leaf, and also 1 minced clove of garlic. After the roast was finished, I thickened the juices with cornstarch. WOW! Thanks so much for what will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was just OK. The roast was tender but dry. I followed the instructions but didn't get the desired results. The sauce/gravy was delicious. I may try it again with a better cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was so easy to make! I loved the flavor the onion soup mix gave to the beef. There is nothing I would do differently. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this on a lazy Saturday and then took it to my dad's for a good hearty lunch for he and my husband as they did some outdoor work. Both thought it was pretty good. I thought it was decent. I loved the way it made our house smell especially! It seemed to be lacking something but we couldnt figure out what. I dont know if I'll make this again, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was so good! Made it with mashed potatoes and carrots with apple butter. The entire family ate it all, even my toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
We loved the subtle flavor of the red wine. Very juicy and delicious. I added in some raw mini carrots and sugar snap peas to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful, but I cooked mine for 8 hours for tenderness and added italian seasoning and a bay leaf. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
As written, this recipe would probably only be a 3 for me, primarily because I think water doesn't add flavor and too much salt because of the onion soup. So, with that precept and the suggestions of others, I made the following changes: swapped out a can of beef broth for the water, decreased the wine to 1/2 c (I used an Australian merlot), added 2 fresh bay leaves, a can of sliced mushrooms (though I admit fresh would be have been better!), a can of mushroom soup, 4 carrots chunked, some thyme. I sifted the onion soup to separate the seasonings from the dried onions, used the dried onions, added more, and used only half the seasoned salt. I cooked for the recommended time, and I'll tell you what...this was absolutely maddeningly delicious! We loved it and can't wait to have it again!!! Thank you for a good basic recipe and great suggestions from others on which I built my own. I couldn't have done it without you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
very easy and delicious. my husband is from germany added 3 tbl. of red wine vinegar and tasted very close to sauerbraten without the 3 day wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carver, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Thanks for the best tasting pot roast EVER. I did add more wine, chunks of onion and a green pepper for flavour. Cooked it high 4 and half hours. Will make it again... very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States