Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This recipe was great!! I used a Merlot for the red wine. I added garlic, rosemary, onions, sliced mushrooms, cracked pepper, and some salt. I also seared the roast before baking it in the oven at 250 degrees for about 4 hours. I will definitley make this recipe again. A 2lb. roast was completely gone after dinner (with 2 adults and 2 kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
"Sooo good! I used a full envelope of Lipton's dry Beefy onion soup mix. Served with mashed potatoes to enjoy the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was great-I used all red wine and a full packet of onion soup-wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Used the entire packet of onion soup, 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of water. We LOVED it. It's simple and wonderful!! I thickened the juices for gravy. Superb! (and so easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was very good. The "gravy" was especially tasty. I took others advice and used all wine and a few sprigs of fresh rosemary. However, the presentation was dull so I didn't serve it right away. The next day, I added a 10-oz. bag of frozen pearl onions and a can of mushroom pieces (drained). I thicken the juices with arrowroot and water. Served over egg noodles with a few twists of fresh ground pepper and peas. Nice dish. We enjoyed it more the more we ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was delicious! I didn't follow exactly though, I used an entire packet and all red wine. It turned out wonderful! I will definately make this again! Very easy to prepare, and even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I make this often, however I also add 1-2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 whole garlic clove and sliced mushrooms. Served over noodles it is a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I thought this recipe was a good basic idea, but needed some more flavor added. So to the red wine & onion soup mix I added dried rosemary, dried parsley, celery salt, worcestershire sauce, and a few whole cloves of garlic. I thought it came out pretty good, but my husband actually raved about it, which he rarely does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This turned out excellent for our family. Per other reviews, I use a whole packet of onion soup mix, added some rosemary and during the last hour of cooking, I added some brown sugar overall, which really enhanced the red wine taste. The meat was very moist and we all thought is was very flavorful! A bonus is that this recipe takes only minutes to prepare!! Thanks Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was very good...I will try to spice it up a little next time. Good..not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States