Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I had my doubts but this was delicious! I used cabernet sauvignon & used all wine eliminating the water & adding about half a cup of beef broth... used the whole packet of onion soup, added rosemary & fresh pepper per suggestions by others. I added a a half a bag of frozen pearl onions the last hour (next time I will add a whole bag..they were GOOD) & then reduced the wine sauce w/ the drippings & thickened it w/ some cornstarch mixed in water. I mixed egg noodles w/ butter & italian seasoning, put a little wine sauce on top, sliced the roast & drizzled a little wine sauce on that, plated the roast next to the noodles, garnished w/ a bit of fresh chopped parsley & served it up w/ some glazed carrots. This made a good enough presentation to serve to company. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I added the whole pack of onion soup mix and this still wasn't that good. The wine gave it a peculiar taste and overall it was a bit too bland. Not really bad so I'm sure others can enjoy, it just didn't satisfy my tastes and I won't make it again. Thanks anyway:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I have to say I will never go back to cooking beef roasts in the oven again after using this recipe. I had a beef roast which I'd marinated in red wine, pepper and crushed garlic so I thought I would give this recipe a try. Our slow-cooker has number settings instead of low or high (it is very old). I guessed around 3-4 since the dial goes to 12. With the size roast I had, it only took around 4hrs to cook on this setting to the well done mark. I added a couple of cloves of garlic and a few sprigs of rosemary as suggested by someone else. I also replaced the water with wine and doubled the dry onion soup mix (although the latter was by accident). It still turned out great even with the extra soup mix. Served with honey sesame baby carrots, peas, corn on the cob and potato bake with red wine gravy. No plate had a scrap of food remaining on it and the leftover meat has made great sandwiches today. Thanks Katie for a great recipe which I will definitely be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I used an english roast, 1 cup wine, 1 cup water and Knorr onion soup mix (the whole package). Added mushrooms (makes it look better) and potatos and carrots the last hour. Added corn starch the last 30 minutes. The gravy was perfect! Excellent flavor to this roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband says this was the BEST roast I have ever made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was very, very good! And a great way to use up the box of red wine in the fridge left over from a party. I only added a 1/2 cup of water and then was afraid there would not be enough flavor and added two beef bullion cubes (it was early in the morning and I was only running on a half cup of coffee). I worried all day that it would be to salty. However, it worked out great! I didn't have time to make a gravy so we used the sauce a more of an au juice and laddled it over the meat, YUMMY! It would have been to salty for gravy though, one bullion would have been perfect. I didn't have the heart to throw out the juice so I froze it to use in soup later in the week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I was cooking for 2, so I found some shoulder flanks (very lean pieces of meat), about 8 slices and two pounds worth - and turned this into a 5 star recipe. I marinated them overnight in a cup of red wine and 2 tablespoons of garlic. Once I put it into the crockpot and added another cup of wine and two cans of beef broth and the onion soup mix. I removed some meat, put it on hoagie buns with some light swiss cheese and baked it long enough to melt the cheese. We then used the broth to dip the sandwiches into and to pour onto some mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This was good but........ Used cabernet sauvignon and added a large can of mushrooms as well assome rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My family did like this I added the mushrooms. I thought it was okay a little bland even though I added all the onion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Great base recipe-I made it today in my crockpot cooking a 4lb roast 5 hours on high(could have only done it 4 and 1/2 or a little less). I used 2 and 1/2 cups of Shiraz red wine,1 full envelope of onion soup mix,2 bay leaf and 1 tbs of thyme one tbs of rosemary. I also seared the meat after coating with crushed garlic and pepper before placing it in crockpot. For the gravy i placed 3 cups of the juices in a saute pan and boiled it a few minutes. Then I thickened it with 1 tbs of flour and finished the gravy with 1 tbs butter. Very tasty. I served it with the augratin potatoes recipe from here and fresh green beans. For dessert i used the butterscotch bread pudding recipe from here(a must try!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States