Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
So simple to make, and the meat was so nice and tender. I did follow other's suggestions and added a splash of worchestershire sauce, brown sugar and increased the amount of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! What great flavor. Caution!! You will be eating as you carve! I made a few modifications based on personal taste and other reviewer suggesstions. I doubled the wine, swapped out the water for one can of French onion soup. I also added a fresh cleaned and "opened" leak to the bottom of the crock pot. I added some rosemary, 2 bay leaves, two cloves of garlic, to qauartered onions and a whole package of the dried soup. I included 1 pkg of mushrooms during the last hour. I cooked on "memium" instead of high so that there was a pinkish middle. Oh yeah...add about 1/4 cup more wine (I used Chianti) right before you serve. Use the leak, mushrooms and onions as your veggie, all from the same pot! This was great, and the meat is extremely tender. Tish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made this without the dry onion soup mix and left out the water. It was good. Next time I will add some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the wine and water and used an entire envelope of onion soup mix. I also added rosemary, blackpepper, and garlic, and a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I was looking forward to tasting this as it cooked this afternoon. I had read all of the reviews and took peoples feedback and modifications into consideration. I would never make this again. I thought it was terrible. I used 1 cup wine and 1 cup beef broth, the entire envelope of onion mix, added garlic, some onions, rosemary and pepper. The roast used was of good quality and a good quality red wine (I would have preferred to drink it!) the meat was much tougher than I would have expected. This is the only crock recipe I have ever made that I will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this yesterday in a pinch due to a lack of my "normal" pot roast ingredients. I was so pleasantly surprised, I may actually prefer this one to my old standby! My husband loved it too. I did add a couple bay leaves and a beef bouillon cube per other reviewers' suggestions. And I used the whole pack of soup mix. I will DEFINITELY make this again. Will try to add some mushrooms toward the end next time. So glad I gave it a shot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was fabulous! I used chicken broth instead of the water and also added a can of french onion soup along with the dry soup mix. It turned out so yummy! I served it over rice and my husband said it was the best roast I had ever cooked. I used a rump roast and it turned out perfectly!!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This meal was really good. We liked that the flavor was not too overpowering. Looking through all the reviews, I used beef broth instead of water, a whole package of soup, a couple tablespoons of worcestershire, a little bit of brown sugar and some corn starch to thicken it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except I put the whole packet of onion soup mix. I cooked it on low for 8 hours in the slow cooker. It was super moist, but my family and I didnt love the flavour. It was definitely edible, just not something i'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I am by no means a cook, but I made this for my husband and he loved it. I took some of the other reviewers' advice and used bay leaves and fresh better. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States