Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I combined a bunch of reviewers' tips, using more wine, adding frozen pearl onions in the last hour, and thickening up the liquid to make a gravy which was poured over egg noodles. The gravy and the onions were AMAZING. The beef? Just ok. I don't understand how something the spent all day soaking in liquid could end up so dry. The leftovers, mixed with the leftover gravy, made delicious hot beef sandwiches the next day though. I loved how easy this was for a busy morning, so I might make it again, but it didn't really wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was very good. As others mentioned I used some beef broth instead of water and I subbed the onion soup mix for beefy onion soup mix. Worked out well. Everyone enjoyed it. Even my nine year old who likes nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy and it was tender, but I don't think I would cook a roast in the slow cooker again. I prefer oven roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
The meat was great. Tried to thicken the liquid for a gravy, without much success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was good, very easy and tasty. I only had a 2 pound roast and it likely was not the best cut for a crock pot. Nonetheless, I went ahead as I had a bottle of red wine that I wanted to put to use in a recipe. I used a cab/merlot and as I don't buy packages of onion soup mix, I used a mix of my own seasonings (a 3 onion blend, some fresh cracked pepper and sea salt along with some Tuscan seasoning). I added a few cloves of minced garlic and used beef broth in place of the water. The beef did take on a nice flavour from the wine, and I used some of the juice from the crock pot to make a gravy with some cornstarch and water at the end. I did through in a bunch of cremini mushrooms during the last hour or so and they were super yummy. Served this with a salad and Greek-Garlic Lemon Potatoes also from AR :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Thanks to the reviews, I included a leek, garlic cloves, two whole onions, the whole onion soup envelope, a chicken bouillon cube, rosemary, and no water, just twice as much wine. Wow. A tender, flavorful, juicy, delectable wonder! I am rhapsodious about this endeavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Tried this as written turned out to be very dry I used a rump roast cooked for 6 hours on low added mushrooms and pearl onions. any suggestions for the dryness roast was very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is an easy great flavorful was to cook a roast as written. Since the first try I did however substitute Beef Broth for the water and I've used the onion or the garlic and herb soup mix. it works great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
No red wine flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Nyhart Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a good basic recipe. I left it as is for about the first four hours, then I added some veggies (one potato, handful baby carrots) and about 1 cup of beef broth just to be sure the veggies were covered. Then about 7 hours in, I removed the beef, added some flour slurry and one 8 oz package of button mushrooms. Cooked for about another three hours (cut the beef and put it in the oven to stay warm). It was a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States