Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I LOVE this mixture of flavours and I do it all the time, so when I saw this recipe I thought I'd put in a good word for it. I will use the whole package of onion soup mix, and perhaps double the wine (You cannot go wrong with using more wine!) and sometimes I will marinate the roast overnight in the crockpot too. (try throwing in some rosemary and black pepper too) I'll let the roast rest for a while before serving and thicken the juices after skimming the fat off and transferring to a saucepan. Leave all the tasty bits in your gravy, they're so good! It doesn't get much easier than this, or much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This turned out excellent for our family. Per other reviews, I use a whole packet of onion soup mix, added some rosemary and during the last hour of cooking, I added some brown sugar overall, which really enhanced the red wine taste. The meat was very moist and we all thought is was very flavorful! A bonus is that this recipe takes only minutes to prepare!! Thanks Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I have to say I will never go back to cooking beef roasts in the oven again after using this recipe. I had a beef roast which I'd marinated in red wine, pepper and crushed garlic so I thought I would give this recipe a try. Our slow-cooker has number settings instead of low or high (it is very old). I guessed around 3-4 since the dial goes to 12. With the size roast I had, it only took around 4hrs to cook on this setting to the well done mark. I added a couple of cloves of garlic and a few sprigs of rosemary as suggested by someone else. I also replaced the water with wine and doubled the dry onion soup mix (although the latter was by accident). It still turned out great even with the extra soup mix. Served with honey sesame baby carrots, peas, corn on the cob and potato bake with red wine gravy. No plate had a scrap of food remaining on it and the leftover meat has made great sandwiches today. Thanks Katie for a great recipe which I will definitely be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Used the entire packet of onion soup, 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of water. We LOVED it. It's simple and wonderful!! I thickened the juices for gravy. Superb! (and so easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
"Sooo good! I used a full envelope of Lipton's dry Beefy onion soup mix. Served with mashed potatoes to enjoy the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This recipe was great!! I used a Merlot for the red wine. I added garlic, rosemary, onions, sliced mushrooms, cracked pepper, and some salt. I also seared the roast before baking it in the oven at 250 degrees for about 4 hours. I will definitley make this recipe again. A 2lb. roast was completely gone after dinner (with 2 adults and 2 kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was very, very good! And a great way to use up the box of red wine in the fridge left over from a party. I only added a 1/2 cup of water and then was afraid there would not be enough flavor and added two beef bullion cubes (it was early in the morning and I was only running on a half cup of coffee). I worried all day that it would be to salty. However, it worked out great! I didn't have time to make a gravy so we used the sauce a more of an au juice and laddled it over the meat, YUMMY! It would have been to salty for gravy though, one bullion would have been perfect. I didn't have the heart to throw out the juice so I froze it to use in soup later in the week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband says this was the BEST roast I have ever made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I used an english roast, 1 cup wine, 1 cup water and Knorr onion soup mix (the whole package). Added mushrooms (makes it look better) and potatos and carrots the last hour. Added corn starch the last 30 minutes. The gravy was perfect! Excellent flavor to this roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Use a rump roast if you want to slice, not shred, this roast. My husband and I love this beef. Thanks, Katie, for submitting a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States