Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
We just finished (and I mean finished) eating this for dinner and I just had to review immediately. This recipe makes the most incredible gravy! I did brown the roast on the stove first, and I followed the lead of some of the other reviews; full package of soup, rosemary and a bay leaf, and also 1 minced clove of garlic. After the roast was finished, I thickened the juices with cornstarch. WOW! Thanks so much for what will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was just OK. The roast was tender but dry. I followed the instructions but didn't get the desired results. The sauce/gravy was delicious. I may try it again with a better cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was so easy to make! I loved the flavor the onion soup mix gave to the beef. There is nothing I would do differently. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this on a lazy Saturday and then took it to my dad's for a good hearty lunch for he and my husband as they did some outdoor work. Both thought it was pretty good. I thought it was decent. I loved the way it made our house smell especially! It seemed to be lacking something but we couldnt figure out what. I dont know if I'll make this again, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was so good! Made it with mashed potatoes and carrots with apple butter. The entire family ate it all, even my toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
We loved the subtle flavor of the red wine. Very juicy and delicious. I added in some raw mini carrots and sugar snap peas to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful, but I cooked mine for 8 hours for tenderness and added italian seasoning and a bay leaf. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
As written, this recipe would probably only be a 3 for me, primarily because I think water doesn't add flavor and too much salt because of the onion soup. So, with that precept and the suggestions of others, I made the following changes: swapped out a can of beef broth for the water, decreased the wine to 1/2 c (I used an Australian merlot), added 2 fresh bay leaves, a can of sliced mushrooms (though I admit fresh would be have been better!), a can of mushroom soup, 4 carrots chunked, some thyme. I sifted the onion soup to separate the seasonings from the dried onions, used the dried onions, added more, and used only half the seasoned salt. I cooked for the recommended time, and I'll tell you what...this was absolutely maddeningly delicious! We loved it and can't wait to have it again!!! Thank you for a good basic recipe and great suggestions from others on which I built my own. I couldn't have done it without you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
very easy and delicious. my husband is from germany added 3 tbl. of red wine vinegar and tasted very close to sauerbraten without the 3 day wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carver, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Thanks for the best tasting pot roast EVER. I did add more wine, chunks of onion and a green pepper for flavour. Cooked it high 4 and half hours. Will make it again... very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States