Red Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I wrote down the ingredients, so all i need to do now is buy a bowl, a spoon, oh, and the actual ingredients themselves, and of course find someone to cook it for me, but it looks like it would taste great. Hvala. -Gabbanski
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
The cake was very dense and needed the frosting that I added. It was good but not sure I would make it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is delicious-- almost has the consistency of a chocolate chip muffin, so I don't think frosting is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My group loved this cake. It's got a very rich taste and I think is sweet enought without any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Pittman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I had some leftover red wine, so I decided to make this cake. I used 1/2 sugar, 1/2 splenda, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. After tasting the finished product, I think this recipe needs salt. I also think the directions need to be re-ordered so the red wine is added after the vanilla and then the flour and finally, the chocolate chips; especially when using an electric mixer. I also used a 9x13 pan and cut 15 pieces, as the calories for 8 pieces was way too high. The chocolate chips make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I thought it would need icing, but it was nice and moist. I used my home made Christmas wine and the cake had a little more kick. The chocolate chips make the cake. Next time I want to try white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. It's quite dense and, despite all of the butter and eggs (and not over-baking), mine was rather dry-ish and crumbly. I think I'm going to cube it up and make a trifle out of it - moisten it with some espresso or Kahlua and layer it with some pudding and whipped cream. I won't be making this cake again and next time I'll just toss the wine I was trying to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the directions and amounts to the tee. The results were a delicious, moist chocolate cake. I did not ice it. I felt like it was fine the way it was. Very easy to make, although I agree with a previous reviewer on the order of the ingredients. This cake is not exceptionally sweet but it is sweet. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potential! The flavor complexity of the red wine & chocolate was great, I would make sure to use a full-bodied wine with chocolate or berry notes. Mine too came out thick and dry, but I'm 100% sure I've figured out why: I tried to cream the butter sugar & eggs together at the same time and all the liquid made the butter clump so I over beat it and the eggs filled out. I bet if I creamed the butter and sugar THEN gradually added the eggs I could get that thick gooey brownie-like consistency in the picture. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover red wine and a chocolate craving, so I halved the recipe and put it in a 9x9 pan (baked at 360 for 20 minutes) to make a thin cake. Taking the advice from other reviewers, I beat the eggs and the butter and then added the eggs individually. It was moist and fluffy and the taste was great for a late night snack. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States