Red Wine Braised Short Ribs with Smashed Fall Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is the 2nd time I've made this recipe. The first time it was wonderful and I followed the recipe exactly as is. This time, I'm pregnant and cannot tolerate onions and garlic, so I omitted them and added extra rosemary. It still came out stellar! For the veggie mash, I used just the sweet potato and the parsnips. One trick I used was to use less of the veggie broth and instead take some of the liquid from the short rib dish and add it to the veggies while they were cooking down. Made them super flavorful without having to add anything else but a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I prepared this in two stages over the course of two days. It was worth the wait. I cooked the short ribs yesterday because I know how much fat they render and I wanted the ease of skimming it off once it had chilled. An hour to an hour and a half of cooking time didn’t seem long enough to me so I let it go for three hours. The aroma while they simmered signaled the deliciousness that was to come the following night, but I wanted them NOW. The assortment of vegetables in this recipe really interested me and it was fun to make this “mash” including them all, especially since I don’t often use turnips or parsnips, and I do believe this was the first time in my life I bought a sweet potato. (I had them one time when I was a kid – don’t remember where - but I remember they were topped with toasted marshmallows and I thought they were perfectly nasty – and I never had them again until now!) The color was beautiful – a brilliant orange; and the flavor was as interesting as the assortment of vegetables hinted it would be. The meat was tender and moist, with a robust, beefy flavor, and a richly flavored sauce to accompany it. Hubs and I really enjoyed this and since this is rather time-consuming I wish I would have thought ahead and made enough for another meal. Note: I did add butter, salt and pepper to the vegetable mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is one of the best short rib recipes. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking, and it is a good way to get all the root vegetables, I did not use the sweet potatoes because I did not have them but an exceptional recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Followed the recipe fairly closely . . . outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good recipe, cooked ribs in slow cooker , would cut onions smaller next time,but all in all ,would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
i tweaked this recipe with another recipe that i found. instead of preparing the fall veggies later, i brown the meat & remove. then saute the chopped red onions 1st, then add 2 cups 1/2" chop carrots & 2 cups 1/2" chop parsnips & saute for 5 minutes, then i add the chopped garlic - saute another minute and add 1 bottle of red wine & 1 can beef broth. i also cooked it for 2 1/2 hours in a 325 oven - perfect. i take the ribs out, strain the veggies, refrigerate the stock - skim all the fat - thicken with a bit of butter & flour and pour over the ribs. reheat a bit & serve with smashed potatoes. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I did not care for the wine in this dish. I was skeptical about using it in the first place but went ahead anyway. I seared the short ribs, then slow cooked everything except the smashed veggies for about 5-6 hours. I cooked the smashed veggies on the stove seperately and served everything together. Two hours into cook time, I could tell by the smell that I might not approve of this dish. The winter veggies were really great and so was the meat as far as tenderness...but the flavor was just...off. Perhaps my error? Definitely maybe. I would consider this recipe again but skip the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this recipe last night. It was WONDERFUL! I served it with mashed potatoes so that we could use the wonderful sauce. I will try the mashed winter vegetables soon! They sound great! Thanks so much for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMG! These short ribs are delicious! I cooked them for 2 hours so they were fork tender and literally falling off the bone. I only did the short ribs without the smashed veggies. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was a simple & easy dish make. I slow cooked on the stovetop for 4 hrs & was tender. Next time I'll slow cook for most of the day so the meat falls apart to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States