Red Wine Braised Short Ribs with Smashed Fall Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kraftykidd
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
2nd time making this dish. Definitely a keeper. I used 1/2 of a bottle of wine in the dish last year and 3/4 of bottle of wine this year. I seared the ribs and added all of the ingredients to my crock pot. I slowed cooked them for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and one my husband asks me to make very often. The only things I do different are that I omit the red wine and sub beef stock for it. This is good for anyone who finds it too acidic, and you are not missing any flavor by doing this. I also dice the onion, carrot and celery rather than large chunks. Lastly, if I happen to have some available, I use bacon fat to saute those veg in first. Just gives it another layer of complexity and richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
best braised ribs i've ever eaten! very very tender flavorful meat! I made no changes in the recipe, and everyone loved it! the vegetables were a little had to smash but again the flavors were incredible. I will defiantly make it again! love love love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollee.Palot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this yesterday, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Awesome! But it took 3 hours for the beef to be perfect. We especially liked the fall veggies. Nice comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. Very delicious. The cooking time was to short, I cooked for 3 to 31/2 hours. It was SO tender,just melted in your mouth! I also served with creamy polenta instead. It absorbed the juices very well. It was a real hit with my family. I order this dish at a favorite restaurant in Napa, and it's $30.00 a plate. This is just as good if not better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I replaced the wine with beef broth and the flavour was excellent. The little ones loved the fall veggies. They are 1 and 2 so the soft texture was perfect for them. I am getting ready to make it again for the best critic in the family, Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! The meat is so tender and flavorful that it melts in your mouth! We actually just used carrots and potatoes cut into chunks instead of mashing the vegetables and using the fall vegetables as they don't appeal as much to the kids. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States