Red, White, and Blueberry Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Simple, delicious, and with the July 4th holiday just around the corner this would be a great pound cake or short cake topper, not to mention vanilla ice cream! I cut the recipe in half and used Splenda instead of sugar. Great after dinner treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
We all enjoyed this fruit salad very much. I didn't add much sugar, just a couple tablespoons over the strawberries after I'd cut them, then I folded in the blueberries and bananas. At the last, I sprinkled in FRESH lemon juice. I think adding a full half cup of sugar would do a disservice to the natural sweetness of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Beautiful, delicious and seasonally appropriate since strawberries and blueberries are plentiful and reasonably priced now. I liked the addition of the bananas, which provided a creamy contrast in texture as well as its role in the "red, white and blue." I skipped the sugar entirely and just gave it a drizzle of honey. This was a perfect and fresh addtion to our Memorial Day Breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This went over very well at our holiday party tonight. We had another family over, and the fruit was a hit with adults and kids alike. My husband is not wild about blueberries, but even liked them in this, and said the bananas were "divine" with the "sauce." Next time he wants me to make it with cherries instead of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobbilovesben
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Delicious! Very fast and easy recipe! Great for any summer get-together and the fact that it looks patriotic is just another plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Can't say much other then just delicious!!!! Awesome pick of fruit, nice, sweet and ripe. Just delicious!!! Everything was perfect and to the T. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Pineapple works great in place of the bananas. Cut back on sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. Did not add sugar because I thought the fruit was sweet enough. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Loved this! I used a little more than a pint of strawberries, but that was the only change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was a very simple, festive, and tasty salad to make! Instead of sugar, I used about 3-5 tablespoons of honey, and mixed with equal parts lemon and lime juice. The honey created lots of "juice" for the fruit. The bananas did go a bit soggy after a few hours, but not as fast as they would have without the citrus. Pineapple or mango would work great as well. As long as the fruit is light enough in color, it makes a great contrast for the berries. This is also great served over pound cake, shortcake, angel food cake, etc, and topped with whipped cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States