Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
THIS RECIPE MAKES UP VERY QUICKLY. I USED A WHITE CAKE MIX AND ADDED A BOX OF VANILLA INSTANT PUDDING. T MADE A WHIPPED CREAM, CREAMCHEESE FROSTING AND IT HELD UP FOR THE 4TH AND THE PART I FROZE WAS STILL PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used white cake mix and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Darling festive cake! Got lots of oohs and awwws. Use the vanilla pudding in the cool whip. Makes a great topping. I also used white cake mix cooked and cooled then poked holes every couple of inches and poured strawberry jello small pack made with 1 cup of boiling water mixed then added 1/2 cup of ice cold water mixed then poured over cake so it was marbled. Cooled for an hour in fridge. Then frosted and decorated. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My family and guests loved it! It was easy to make and did not take a lot of time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I just made this for 4th of July and divided the batter into 2 8" square cake pans. So instead of making a flag for the decoration I made a star. Outlined it with blueberries and filled with sliced strawberries. It was fantastic! Really did taste like shortcake - maybe because when the cake is refrigerated it takes on more of a shortcake texture. Anyway, it was delish! And my whole family enjoyed. Even the little ones from ages 4-9. Thanks for a great, simple and easy recipe! Mema328
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Festive and easy! I used red velvet cake mix which went well with Cool Whip topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a nice easy recipe for someone like me who can't bake!!! I used the pudding mix as well in the frosting. No one could believe I made it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was fantastic. I used the Lemon Cake by LaDonna as the base. It worked great! Everyone loved it and were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was OK...I would probably have liked it better if I had not added the vanilla and pudding to the Cool Whip as other reviewers suggested. That added a real artificial taste to it. Next time I will stick with the recipe...I have made this before as written and the Cool Whip alone is just OK on top, which is why I opted for the moderations this time. Either way it's just a 3 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It would have been good, but not fantastic with just the cool-whip topping, but I would give 5-stars with the suggestion from Bette to add pudding, milk, and vanilla to the topping. It was just the extra touch needed to make it special for the holiday! Oh, and we're a family of raspberry lovers so I used raspberries instead of sliced strawberries. The key is to wash them well ahead of time and keep turning them in the collander to make sure the water drains out so they're ready to put on your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Blue Flag Toast

A fun, easy, and patriotic breakfast.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States