Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Ritsuko F
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great for July 4th! We had BBQ at Brother-in-law's house with about 30 people, and everybody could not wait to cut the cake to enjoy. I used German chocolate cake instead of yellow cake. I also poked cake and ran 14 oz can of fat free sweeten condensed milk right after come out of the oven. It is rich and milky chocolate cake with berries. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuriousCook
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My kids and I made this today for our annual 4th of July party at our best friends house! It was a HIT everyone loved it and we only brought home 3 pieces!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This cake tasted great and was fun to make with the kids. Very patriotic! Next time, however, I will use a large cool whip because it was a thin layer when we were done and that left it a little dry! I think I will also split the cake in half and place a layer of strawberries and whipped cream between the layers, then top with the extra cool whip and American flag decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I just made this tonight for the 4th's celebration. The children are really looking forward to eating it, and I'm looking forward to them getting some fruit in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My family loves it!!! Its always requested at family gatherings!!!! *yummy yum yum*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodgers_chik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
i think that the family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I make this exact cake only I cut the cake down the middle and put a mixture of strawberries and blueberries with a bit of sugar, then place the other cake half and make the flag design...it's a winner I haven't met someone yet that doesn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This cake is delish and so festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
well the only thing i changed was using angel food cake instead of a yellow cake and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seritafife

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
So simple with very cute results and tastes good also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States