Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina Renee Steele
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was super easy and cheap :) the longest part was letting the cake cool. I recommend using a rectangular pan. I didn't think about that til afterwards. It just would've looked better. Don't skimp on the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I loved the way reviewer BETTE did it. I did one on the 4th and again the next day for a gathering. It was gone both times I kid you not. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Na
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Delicious! I made this for our 4th of July BBQ and it was a big hit! Everyone thought it tasted like twinkies. The young kids had fun helping me decorate it. The only change I made was to use heavy whipping cream and made our own by adding a tsp. of sugar and vanilla! Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
For a great way to get a beginner, in the kitchen that wants to do something fun, is this recipe. One of my kids wanted to make something for a gathering and I suggested this because it's quick, fun and easy. And boy did she have fun making it. Now she was requested to make again but with a chocolate cake for someone's birthday. Made the cake even cooler was adding red and blue sprinkles into the cake mix made it sparkle holiday fun. Thanks again, we will totally make again. But sans the homemade whip topping. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe and super cute! I added 1 package vanilla pudding mix, 2 tsp. vanilla extract 1 cup of milk & 2 Tbsp. brown sugar to the icing like some others had suggested which was perfect. Next year, I'll use angel food cake instead of yellow cake...I think that'd be worthy of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this the night before a 4th of July BBQ, and I was worried it might get mushy or the fruit might color the frosting overnight, but it turned out really good. In fact, I thought I overbaked my cake (used the convection feature for the first time ever), but it was quite moist and tasty when I got it out of the refrigerator the next day. I am not a big fan of Cool Whip, so like several other reviewers, I used the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site, and it was wonderful. I served it cold at a pool party, and we all thought it was very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was great! Made it for a party and got raves. Will make for another party soon. Different people but I am sure they will like it too. I used real whipped cream. I thought this took the cake up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great shortcake taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Nom nom nom. We used a yellow cake and followed the recommendation to use the Whip Cream Vanilla frosting....take the 8oz of cool whip, fold a package of instant vanilla pudding, 1c milk and 1 tsp of vanilla and it was so perfect. Not just for the 4th....all sorts of fruits can be used....kiwi, blackberry, raspberry, boysenberry - etc. We kept the left over frosting for a dip. Super moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States