Red, White, and Blue Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is probably one of my most favorite smoothies I've made, and I love the beautiful lavender color. I used an unfrozen banana, the strawberries, frozen blueberries, skim milk, nonfat vanilla yogurt, and omitted the vanilla extract because I added vanilla protein powder. I also used 8 ice cubes to make it colder and slushier. Delicious and only 2 Weight Watchers PointsPlus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I thought this was a pretty good blueberry smoothy. I liked that it wasn't too sweet tasting. I doubled the recipe and got about 3 servings. I put leftover fruit in the freezer, so I used frozen strawberries and blueberries. I only had plain yogurt and not vanilla, and used that along with a packet of Truvia. For the milk I used 2%. I think the frozen berries, I used, made it nice and cold. I will make this again. Edit note: I tried it again, exactly as written using the vanilla yogurt suggested, while still using a fresh banana and frozen berries and it was very good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was absolutely amazing! It replaces our favorite smoothie recipe from Disney we had been using for years. I did have to make two minor alterations based on what I had on hand. Our fruit was fresh so I added more ice cubes than what was called for in the recipe. Also, we had blueberry/pomegrante yogurt instead of vanilla. I couldn't tell much of a difference in taste as the flavor of the vanilla extract is what really comes through. To me it tasted similar to cotton candy, without being too sweet and without all the extra sugar. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was delicious! I had to leave out the strawberries and yogurt because I didn't have any. I also left out the ice and used light soymilk, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I am biased because Martha is my cousin, but I am sure this is great...sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is good, I love smoothies... :) I used plain yogurt and no vanilla extract. For those looking to add even more "healthy" to it, add walnuts (if not allergic to nuts) and instead of honey use (granulated like sugar) Stevia (not Truvia; use Stevia - health food stores). Also, to hull your strawberries, push a straw up through the bottom of the strawberry through the top and out. It should remove the top (or most of it) and hull your strawberry at the same time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
One of the main reasons I don’t generally care for yogurt smoothies is just that - too much yogurt. I’d rather eat a carton of yogurt with some fruit on the side. So what I particularly enjoyed about this smoothie was its lower proportion of yogurt relative to the amount of fruit. What really surprised me, however, is that Hubs agreed, and he does love his yogurt smoothies. I cut back on the vanilla just a tad, and sweetened it lightly with honey. My fruit was only partially frozen so I still used the ice cubes and was happy I did – this was nice and frosty cold. Beautiful color and good berry taste as this was not as heavy on the banana flavor as some smoothies including it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Yummm ! I love that this recipe doesn't use juice. It's sooo good, which I attribute in large part to the vanilla extract. Delicioso !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made it for the 7 kids I was watching today and everyone gave it two thumbs up. My strawberries and blueberries were already frozen so I did not need to freeze the bananas or use ice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I tripled this recipe and used frozen bananas and my strawberries and blueberries were also frozen which meant I didn't need the ice. This was good, I liked the double dose of vanilla but I think it needs more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States