Red, White and Blue Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have this recipe saved because my family loves it so much! We don't change the recipe often unless there is a request for more coconut. We have learned to make sure the fruit is sweet before folding it in. I also make this for Christmas and add 2 drops of green food coloring. The red and green are festive and it tops off pound cake beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlynd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as is and it turned out fabulous. Brought it to a 4th of July barbeque and it didn't last 1 hour!!!! Next time I might add a bit more strawberries and blueberries. But otherwise, got so many compliments on this. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Made this for the Fourth of July this year and it was pure heaven! Added cherries, 1/4 cup sugar and one banana to change things up a bit and it was devoured by my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was heavenly! Made it exactly as shared. Typically, I change up recipes a little because either I don't have specific ingredients or don't care for some. For this one, I bought the named ingredients so there was no excuse. Dee-lish! Made it for a 4th of July party and it went over well. I'd like to try it a tad sweeter, so next time will leave out some of the sour cream and add more powdered sugar. I will also taste some of my blueberries before piling them in -- some of mine were a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
A summer favorite from now on! A few modifications: I only added the cream, sugar, sour cream, pineapples together and refrigerated for 4 hours. When it was time to eat, I spooned some ambrosia and pushed in some marshmallows. We went black raspberry picking today so I added those around a big blob of ambrosia. Then I topped with some strawberry slices and blueberries. I heated the coconut flakes on ths stove for a few minutes to bring out a toasted coconut taste. Last but not least, I sprinkled some turbinado sugar for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I must say I made this for a BBQ for the Memorial day holiday and got nothing but rave reviews!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this last year for 4th of July for a large crowd and everyone loved it>>> and now I have been requested to make it again. The cream mixture is too much for the amount of fruit - I added 2 cans of mandarin oranges, more marshmallows and toasted chopped pecans. (or next time maybe just cut the cream mixture in half?) For 14 people I could have easily cut the whole recipe in half the way I prepared it, but the leftovers held up really well and were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This ambrosia wasn't quite sweet enough for my tastes. I added more marshmallows, and it really did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for the 4th and it was perfect! I did leave out the coconut, my little one wouldn't have eaten it. Perfect combination of sweet/tart/sour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States