Red, White and Blue Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have this recipe saved because my family loves it so much! We don't change the recipe often unless there is a request for more coconut. We have learned to make sure the fruit is sweet before folding it in. I also make this for Christmas and add 2 drops of green food coloring. The red and green are festive and it tops off pound cake beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlynd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as is and it turned out fabulous. Brought it to a 4th of July barbeque and it didn't last 1 hour!!!! Next time I might add a bit more strawberries and blueberries. But otherwise, got so many compliments on this. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Made this for the Fourth of July this year and it was pure heaven! Added cherries, 1/4 cup sugar and one banana to change things up a bit and it was devoured by my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was heavenly! Made it exactly as shared. Typically, I change up recipes a little because either I don't have specific ingredients or don't care for some. For this one, I bought the named ingredients so there was no excuse. Dee-lish! Made it for a 4th of July party and it went over well. I'd like to try it a tad sweeter, so next time will leave out some of the sour cream and add more powdered sugar. I will also taste some of my blueberries before piling them in -- some of mine were a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
A summer favorite from now on! A few modifications: I only added the cream, sugar, sour cream, pineapples together and refrigerated for 4 hours. When it was time to eat, I spooned some ambrosia and pushed in some marshmallows. We went black raspberry picking today so I added those around a big blob of ambrosia. Then I topped with some strawberry slices and blueberries. I heated the coconut flakes on ths stove for a few minutes to bring out a toasted coconut taste. Last but not least, I sprinkled some turbinado sugar for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I must say I made this for a BBQ for the Memorial day holiday and got nothing but rave reviews!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this last year for 4th of July for a large crowd and everyone loved it>>> and now I have been requested to make it again. The cream mixture is too much for the amount of fruit - I added 2 cans of mandarin oranges, more marshmallows and toasted chopped pecans. (or next time maybe just cut the cream mixture in half?) For 14 people I could have easily cut the whole recipe in half the way I prepared it, but the leftovers held up really well and were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This ambrosia wasn't quite sweet enough for my tastes. I added more marshmallows, and it really did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for the 4th and it was perfect! I did leave out the coconut, my little one wouldn't have eaten it. Perfect combination of sweet/tart/sour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Blue Flag Toast

A fun, easy, and patriotic breakfast.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States