Red, White and Blue Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Wow! This was so good I couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Maybe next time, I'll use light cream instead of heavy cream to lower the fat content. I wouldn't change anything else! Update: I tried it with light cream and it just didn't have the same thick texture needed for this recipe. That's ok - it's definitely worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Oh, My.....This is heaven!! I made it exactly like the recipe and everyone loved it!! I may cut up some bananas next time, but it is excellent as is too. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
YUMMY!!!!!!!!! I made this for 4th of July and it was sooooo good. We didn't have any leftovers. I made it again about two weeks later because I liked it so much and it's a great desert for hot summer nights. The second time I added in some chopped walnuts and it added a great crunch and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was delicious! But I did add more powdered sugar, you can adjust to how sweet you want it. You can get really creative with this recipe and add whatever fruit you want. I've already made it twice, the first time, exactly how recipe is except more powdered sugar, the second time with just strawberries and bananas and of course the marshmallows.Definately A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Soooo good. I only made it because my boyfriend LOVES ambrosia - I'd never even had it! But it turned out so well I keep making it again and again for no reason at all! Instead of just the strawberries and blueberries, though, I add whatever I have around the house. No watermelon because there's just too much liquid there, but it's great with small cantelope balls, frozen blueberries, fresh chunked peaches or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
We love this recipe, however the next time I make it will be for a potluck or company because it makes to much for just my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Made this for potluck and it was a hit! Will definitely use again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Loved this recipe. Left out the coconut and increased the sugar, and added toasted pecans as others have recommended. "sauce" tasted a bit like sour cream out of the bowl, but after the dish mellowed it was perfect..and I think the sour cream made the cream stable (even the next day it wasn't watery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMAYO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My sister made this for Memorial Day.It is so good!!!! The fresh fruit makes this dish.Def a keeper.Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this for the 4th and it was perfect! I did leave out the coconut, my little one wouldn't have eaten it. Perfect combination of sweet/tart/sour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States