Red, White and Blue Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Wow! This was so good I couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Maybe next time, I'll use light cream instead of heavy cream to lower the fat content. I wouldn't change anything else! Update: I tried it with light cream and it just didn't have the same thick texture needed for this recipe. That's ok - it's definitely worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Oh, My.....This is heaven!! I made it exactly like the recipe and everyone loved it!! I may cut up some bananas next time, but it is excellent as is too. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is very good but boy it makes a lot. Better have a crowd around for it. I served it at a July 4th barbeque for 17 people and we're still eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
YUMMY!!!!!!!!! I made this for 4th of July and it was sooooo good. We didn't have any leftovers. I made it again about two weeks later because I liked it so much and it's a great desert for hot summer nights. The second time I added in some chopped walnuts and it added a great crunch and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this for a family reunion and everyone liked it. I didn't add the coconut because my family doesn't like it but I think it would be good because it lacked the sweetness from the coconut. I will make again but will add more pineapple for a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very easy to make and was consumed quickly by the party-goers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This isn't the type of dessert I typically eat, but it tasted alright to me and I got lots of compliments at the picnic I took it to for how great it was. I didn't have much left over. It is pretty costly to make compared to other items, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very good! The fruit is what brings out the sweetness in this dessert. My strawberries were not quite ripe so this actually tasted better the second day once they ripened. I think chopped pecans will be a nice addition - will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
very good, nice change from the orginal. will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was delicious! But I did add more powdered sugar, you can adjust to how sweet you want it. You can get really creative with this recipe and add whatever fruit you want. I've already made it twice, the first time, exactly how recipe is except more powdered sugar, the second time with just strawberries and bananas and of course the marshmallows.Definately A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States