Red, White and Blue Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My sister made this for Memorial Day.It is so good!!!! The fresh fruit makes this dish.Def a keeper.Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Loved this recipe. Left out the coconut and increased the sugar, and added toasted pecans as others have recommended. "sauce" tasted a bit like sour cream out of the bowl, but after the dish mellowed it was perfect..and I think the sour cream made the cream stable (even the next day it wasn't watery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMAYO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Made this for potluck and it was a hit! Will definitely use again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
We love this recipe, however the next time I make it will be for a potluck or company because it makes to much for just my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Soooo good. I only made it because my boyfriend LOVES ambrosia - I'd never even had it! But it turned out so well I keep making it again and again for no reason at all! Instead of just the strawberries and blueberries, though, I add whatever I have around the house. No watermelon because there's just too much liquid there, but it's great with small cantelope balls, frozen blueberries, fresh chunked peaches or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was delicious! But I did add more powdered sugar, you can adjust to how sweet you want it. You can get really creative with this recipe and add whatever fruit you want. I've already made it twice, the first time, exactly how recipe is except more powdered sugar, the second time with just strawberries and bananas and of course the marshmallows.Definately A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
very good, nice change from the orginal. will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very good! The fruit is what brings out the sweetness in this dessert. My strawberries were not quite ripe so this actually tasted better the second day once they ripened. I think chopped pecans will be a nice addition - will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This isn't the type of dessert I typically eat, but it tasted alright to me and I got lots of compliments at the picnic I took it to for how great it was. I didn't have much left over. It is pretty costly to make compared to other items, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very easy to make and was consumed quickly by the party-goers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States