Red Velvet Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've made these twice now and they've been great. I followed the recipe to the last detail, except I subbed the creme fraiche for heavy cream, whipping it before adding it to either of the mixtures. I also added white chocolate chips to the pancake mix and that added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Served this as a breakfast special at our restaurant with rave reviews! I did add more cocoa powder for deeper chocolate flavor. The "cream" topping was a huge hit too, will make this for other pancakes in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milaminute

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
make your own creme fraiche easily...add 2 tbsp plain full fat yogurt to 1 C whipping cream (35%) in a mason jar. Cover loosly with a kitchen towel and let sit in a warm place (oven with pilot light is perfect or on top of the frige) for 24-48 hours or until nice and thick. Keeps in the frige for 2 weeks or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great pancakes can wait to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm with Gracecc and Tom. When you substitute one ingredient for another you are now responsible for what you wind up with. For those that knew how to make creme fraiche, and followed the recipe to the letter, we had delicious results. No need to bash the person the submitted the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made these and they were a terrific hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are awesome and yes a lot of work and a bit messy bu isn't that a part of the fun? I am going to try the white chocolate chips etc next time too! I agree with the other reviewers, you cannot change a recipe in it's entirety and expect it to turn out right...as for using wheat flour, that is a huge change as it is not the same as white some things just taste better with white flour lol! Also, yes you must use the right equipment as well. Now a change like adding white choc chips to it, that made sense. I honestly don't think these were intended as any type of health food so, find a different one if thats what your after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Mcmahon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe--and a nice 'new' breakfast food, for a change. Hats off to gracce5249 for your constructive comments to another poster. Indeed, how can anyone prepare a (yet, untried) recipe by altering the ingredients and expect it to meet their 'high-tone' criteria? One usually makes changes/substitutes out of necessity--not having all the required ingredients, at least when making the recipe for the first time. I was married to a certified European chef for nearly 18 yrs. and he always went with the 'original' on any recipe. Changes, if any, came after he prepared it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Why do people change the receipe, substitute ingredients and then give the receipe a poor or downgraded rating. I am tired of, I changed this for that, could not find this so I substituted that. If you cannot or do not prepare according to receipe do not review on the mess you prepared with your changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I think these came out super. The only difference is that I make my own "creme fraiche."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States