Red Velvet Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Why do people change the receipe, substitute ingredients and then give the receipe a poor or downgraded rating. I am tired of, I changed this for that, could not find this so I substituted that. If you cannot or do not prepare according to receipe do not review on the mess you prepared with your changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I think these came out super. The only difference is that I make my own "creme fraiche."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
make your own creme fraiche easily...add 2 tbsp plain full fat yogurt to 1 C whipping cream (35%) in a mason jar. Cover loosly with a kitchen towel and let sit in a warm place (oven with pilot light is perfect or on top of the frige) for 24-48 hours or until nice and thick. Keeps in the frige for 2 weeks or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very mediocre for all the work involved & dirty dishes to clean up. None of the grocery stores around here carry creme fraiche so I sub'd sour cream for it. Used whole wheat flour instead of white (I never cook with white flour). A few comments, mascarpone cheese is very thick like the consistency of cream cheese, you want to let it soften so it is easier to work with. A hand mixer would probably be best for the topping, I didn't use one & mine came out sort of grainy. My husband commented the topping wasn't sweet enough. Be careful with the food coloring if you have light countertops. As I squeezed it out, as it got to the end, it splattered a bit getting all over the counter. Luckily I had a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser, a regular sponge did not get it off. Lastly, Written as is this recipe is too much work for amount yielded, I recommend doubling it if you're making it. We got 9 medium size pancakes out of the batter, the griddle was very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The topping is delicious and a great idea. With regard to anything red velvet...you DO NOT need to add any red food coloring!! The combination of buttermilk with baking soda or baking powder WILL produce a red-ish tint naturally. Just mix them together and wait a few minutes. It will be a little lighter than food color (for goodness sake!) but it will be as the cake was intended. If you really 'need' a blood red color, try beet juice. It just takes a few drops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICATER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Served this as a breakfast special at our restaurant with rave reviews! I did add more cocoa powder for deeper chocolate flavor. The "cream" topping was a huge hit too, will make this for other pancakes in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milaminute

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm sorry, I don't get the whole "red velvet" thing. Red food colouring adds no flavour - in fact it tastes absolutely disgusting. It does nothing but add unnecessary chemicals and a bitter taste to anything you make. I'd rather leave it out and just make chocolate pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've made these twice now and they've been great. I followed the recipe to the last detail, except I subbed the creme fraiche for heavy cream, whipping it before adding it to either of the mixtures. I also added white chocolate chips to the pancake mix and that added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made these yesterday for breakfast for myself, my boyfriend, and my mom. We all loved them! I substituted two tablespoons of sour cream for the creme fraiche and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe--and a nice 'new' breakfast food, for a change. Hats off to gracce5249 for your constructive comments to another poster. Indeed, how can anyone prepare a (yet, untried) recipe by altering the ingredients and expect it to meet their 'high-tone' criteria? One usually makes changes/substitutes out of necessity--not having all the required ingredients, at least when making the recipe for the first time. I was married to a certified European chef for nearly 18 yrs. and he always went with the 'original' on any recipe. Changes, if any, came after he prepared it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States