Red Velvet Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made these yesterday for breakfast for myself, my boyfriend, and my mom. We all loved them! I substituted two tablespoons of sour cream for the creme fraiche and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Served this as a breakfast special at our restaurant with rave reviews! I did add more cocoa powder for deeper chocolate flavor. The "cream" topping was a huge hit too, will make this for other pancakes in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milaminute

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great pancakes can wait to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Made these as a test run before the holidays arrive! This review is for the pancakes only as I used a different recipe for a cream cheese topping. I subbed sour cream for the creme fraiche, and cut back a little on the sugar. DH thought they tasted like regular pancakes but I could definitely taste the cocoa and sour cream. A fun idea for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very mediocre for all the work involved & dirty dishes to clean up. None of the grocery stores around here carry creme fraiche so I sub'd sour cream for it. Used whole wheat flour instead of white (I never cook with white flour). A few comments, mascarpone cheese is very thick like the consistency of cream cheese, you want to let it soften so it is easier to work with. A hand mixer would probably be best for the topping, I didn't use one & mine came out sort of grainy. My husband commented the topping wasn't sweet enough. Be careful with the food coloring if you have light countertops. As I squeezed it out, as it got to the end, it splattered a bit getting all over the counter. Luckily I had a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser, a regular sponge did not get it off. Lastly, Written as is this recipe is too much work for amount yielded, I recommend doubling it if you're making it. We got 9 medium size pancakes out of the batter, the griddle was very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've made these twice now and they've been great. I followed the recipe to the last detail, except I subbed the creme fraiche for heavy cream, whipping it before adding it to either of the mixtures. I also added white chocolate chips to the pancake mix and that added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
make your own creme fraiche easily...add 2 tbsp plain full fat yogurt to 1 C whipping cream (35%) in a mason jar. Cover loosly with a kitchen towel and let sit in a warm place (oven with pilot light is perfect or on top of the frige) for 24-48 hours or until nice and thick. Keeps in the frige for 2 weeks or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm sorry, I don't get the whole "red velvet" thing. Red food colouring adds no flavour - in fact it tastes absolutely disgusting. It does nothing but add unnecessary chemicals and a bitter taste to anything you make. I'd rather leave it out and just make chocolate pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was reluctant to try this recipe for professional reasons, it makes no sense and one ingredient deviates from the other and there is far too much sodium. After all, a pancake is a pancake is a pancake. Unless of course grated orange rind is applied to a basic batter and then it is the start of a Crepe Suzette. However I did try it and now I wonder why. With the topping, a basic batter will suffice, and does. Creme Fraiche is a basic in our kitchen, being used from complimenting dessert to whipped potatoes, however it is double cream before pasturization (not permitted in this country) and can be made by mixing equal parts double cream (whipped to a floppy stage) and natural yogurt (Greek for a richer consistency) or skimmed milk yogurt for a lighter one. One more tip, when buying mascerpone cheese, make sure it is genuine from Italy and not mascerpone cream which is a poor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Why do people change the receipe, substitute ingredients and then give the receipe a poor or downgraded rating. I am tired of, I changed this for that, could not find this so I substituted that. If you cannot or do not prepare according to receipe do not review on the mess you prepared with your changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States