Red Velvet Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
They cost a bit to make, take some time, but are totally tasteless. I was really sad too! I just new they would be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe--and a nice 'new' breakfast food, for a change. Hats off to gracce5249 for your constructive comments to another poster. Indeed, how can anyone prepare a (yet, untried) recipe by altering the ingredients and expect it to meet their 'high-tone' criteria? One usually makes changes/substitutes out of necessity--not having all the required ingredients, at least when making the recipe for the first time. I was married to a certified European chef for nearly 18 yrs. and he always went with the 'original' on any recipe. Changes, if any, came after he prepared it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm with Gracecc and Tom. When you substitute one ingredient for another you are now responsible for what you wind up with. For those that knew how to make creme fraiche, and followed the recipe to the letter, we had delicious results. No need to bash the person the submitted the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are awesome and yes a lot of work and a bit messy bu isn't that a part of the fun? I am going to try the white chocolate chips etc next time too! I agree with the other reviewers, you cannot change a recipe in it's entirety and expect it to turn out right...as for using wheat flour, that is a huge change as it is not the same as white some things just taste better with white flour lol! Also, yes you must use the right equipment as well. Now a change like adding white choc chips to it, that made sense. I honestly don't think these were intended as any type of health food so, find a different one if thats what your after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Mcmahon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made these and they were a terrific hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The topping is delicious and a great idea. With regard to anything red velvet...you DO NOT need to add any red food coloring!! The combination of buttermilk with baking soda or baking powder WILL produce a red-ish tint naturally. Just mix them together and wait a few minutes. It will be a little lighter than food color (for goodness sake!) but it will be as the cake was intended. If you really 'need' a blood red color, try beet juice. It just takes a few drops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICATER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I think these came out super. The only difference is that I make my own "creme fraiche."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Why do people change the receipe, substitute ingredients and then give the receipe a poor or downgraded rating. I am tired of, I changed this for that, could not find this so I substituted that. If you cannot or do not prepare according to receipe do not review on the mess you prepared with your changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was reluctant to try this recipe for professional reasons, it makes no sense and one ingredient deviates from the other and there is far too much sodium. After all, a pancake is a pancake is a pancake. Unless of course grated orange rind is applied to a basic batter and then it is the start of a Crepe Suzette. However I did try it and now I wonder why. With the topping, a basic batter will suffice, and does. Creme Fraiche is a basic in our kitchen, being used from complimenting dessert to whipped potatoes, however it is double cream before pasturization (not permitted in this country) and can be made by mixing equal parts double cream (whipped to a floppy stage) and natural yogurt (Greek for a richer consistency) or skimmed milk yogurt for a lighter one. One more tip, when buying mascerpone cheese, make sure it is genuine from Italy and not mascerpone cream which is a poor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm sorry, I don't get the whole "red velvet" thing. Red food colouring adds no flavour - in fact it tastes absolutely disgusting. It does nothing but add unnecessary chemicals and a bitter taste to anything you make. I'd rather leave it out and just make chocolate pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States