Red Velvet Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good recipe - the "cream cheese glaze" is fantastic. Overall, I think the pancakes and glaze were pretty sweet for a breakfast food, so I only gave this 4 stars out of 5. If super-sweet, make-your-teeth-hurt kind of fare works for you, this will definitely be a favorite. The essence of red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting was definitely captured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I love love red velvet anything, so when I saw this amazing recipe I had to try it. And it did not let me down. I have made the recipe twice, second time i added more sugar and a little bit of milk instead of "more buttermilk" when the batter was a bit too thick. I also substitured cream cheese for mascarpone in the spread because I had ran out. Still the pancakes were amazing. Will make again and again. Well worth the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These are delicious. I made them for family during Christmas and they were a big hit with everyone. I agree with Tom Z, if you change/add/substitute/omit the recipe the please do not rate the original based on your failure. If you create a new recipe worthy of publication then submit the delightful new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Time comsuming but WELL worth the trouble. We enjoyed the outcome of my efforts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldieis1
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These turned out great! They are not too much work as some reviews have indicated. Made from scratch pancakes are far superior to the 'just add water' pancake mixes. Usually I make the recipes I find as stated without substitutions or alterations. Recipes are tweaked to personal tastes after preparing the original recipe first if necessary. Unfortunately, we could not find mascarpone cheese in our area or crème fraiche, so we were forced to substitute cream cheese and sour cream for these respectively. These are tasty and make a beautiful presentation for breakfast! A definite keeper – thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made a test batch. Added a tablespoon of sugar to enhance the chocolate flavor and found that the batch with the additional sugar was a hit. The topping is perfect. I can eat a bowl of the topping by itself with no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These pancakes are ridiculously delicious. I didn't have creme fraiche, so I used sour cream in the batter. I mixed equal portions of mascarpone and cream cheese w powdered sugar for the frosting. So tasty. Thanks for the recipe! Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I loved the recipe...I make alot of red velvet cakes...this is now a tradition for Christmas morning breatfast.... I'm amazed at the reviews of pinheads...use beet juice...red food coloring has not flavor...etc.....get a life.... Aloha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aloha Bob
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made these for a pancake brunch that we were having at the store that I work at. They were a huge hit! I actually just left out the creme fraise because I was making it last minute and didn't have time to make my own and couldn't find it in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
They cost a bit to make, take some time, but are totally tasteless. I was really sad too! I just new they would be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States