Red Velvet Pancakes with Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used this recipe for just the cream cheese glaze. This may already have been brought up, but my standard size cream cheese package comes in 8oz and not 4; so I just used the whole block of cream cheese, and it turned out PERFECT! I only used 2 Tablespoons of milk to thin it and it was awesome on my cherry bars! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I tried this today and I was very disappointed with the results. I followed the directions as so and pancakes were flavorless and was not satisfied with icing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I really enjoyed this! The recipe had normal ingredients and was much easier than all of the other red velvet pancakes I've seen! I thought they were especially delicious! I thought the batter was a little thin but I made a buttermilk substitute and had to use fat free milk so that may have been why. Great job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMAMIMI
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
First time trying these was today (6/15/13). With the first 3 to go in the skillet, I used BUTTER to coat the pan and apparently had the burner too high, so they burned a bit. LOL With the second round of pancakes (the next 3), I used a bit of oil in the skillet INSTEAD of the butter and turned the heat down to just a hair below Medium High. They came out much better! I put the cream cheese glaze in a squeeze bottle, which made it easier to put in between the layers, in non-messy fashion. My kid loved them! Will make again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I don't like red food coloring and had always wanted to try using beet juice in a red velvet recipe, so I tried it with this. Wasn't sure what to expect, but the color was amazing! (See photo.) I cut down on the milk so I could add the juice. I did add a bit of thickened cream though, to thicken it up a bit. I also added some extra sugar, which turned out to be a good idea. I would probably make this again, but add more cocoa to make it more chocolatey. I'll attach a photo to show the amazing red color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
First off I have tried this recipe twice. Once exactly as the recipe states and the second time with a little *doctoring*. Following the recipe as described the pancakes came out bland and didn't seem to have any flavor other than a tangy twist. No cocoa flavor despite the addition of cocoa! My suggestions: 1) Add one more tablespoon of cocoa powder and sugar to the listed recipe. Don't skimp because it really takes the flavor up a notch which to my palate was perfect!! 2) Cook the pancakes on a lower heat setting then regularly. I found these pancakes like to burn a little faster than others. They do better at a lower heat. 3) Butter and spray oil for the pan/griddle is essential. A little melted butter followed up by a spray of oil and you will have a hint of buttery flavor and a slight browning to the red batter. 4) Let your batter remain a little on the lumpy side. It does seem to produce better pancakes. Let the bubbles form completely and the edges dry out a tad before flipping. The cream cheese drizzle works a little better with a touch of milk and a few seconds in the microwave. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These looked amazing...tasted like cardboard. Will not be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I doubled this recipe and it really was not very good. The icing was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These came out great, next time I would add a little more sugar to the pancake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I didnt make the pancakes, but I used the cream cheese glaze on the Hershey's Cocoa Black Magic Cake I made. I had to add about 5-6 tbsp of milk to get it to the consistency I needed, but it was DELICIOUS & everyone commented on how tasty it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States