Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenniferlstout
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These were fantastic! I brought them to work and my co-workers couldn't get enough. I'll definitely make them again. The cream cheese frosting that I used was a perfect compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferlstout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
i made these a few times and every time people love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These were so easy to make and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Very good. Everyone loved these. I made them for my wife's baby shower. Just a tip: I don't think it will work for anything other than red. I tried to make them blue, substituting blue food coloring for the red. The batter turned green as soon as I added the cocoa. I may have to try these again for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was certainly not the best red velvet cake I have ever had. It was a moist cake and baked well, but the taste was really blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I had never made red velvet cake before so I just picked this one at random. I made it for a poker party and brought the rest to work and everybody really liked it! If I were to make it again, I probably would cut the cocoa powder. It seems like it had too much of a chocolate taste (not bad, but just not what I think of when I think of red velvet). Most recipes usually call for a couple tbsp so this one is a lot more. this is the cream cheese frosting that I used for the cake: 1/2c. of unsalted butter (softened) 2- 8oz. packs of cream cheese (softened) 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar 1 tbsp of vanilla extract. After tweaking, I find that this is the best frosting for me. Not too sweet... just sweet enough. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I thought these were great. Very moist, but not too sweet. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made these yesterday and they are almost gone! I used the nutty cream cheese icing and they were GREAT!! Thanks, Laurie Leigh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good recipe. Not a mind-blowing one, but still, good. I also used the cream cheese frosting 2 recipe posted by Janni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States