Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These were pretty good! The only issue I had was that they were baked for too long (at 20 minutes) and were very dry. I would suggest checking on them at 15 minutes and go from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
They just tasted like normal chocolate cupcakes, though good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fload

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These did not turn out as I expected. I found that they tasted too much like flour, I wonder if I could have sub all purpose for cake & pastry flour or added less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Turned out wonderfully, moist and spongy to the touch,I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 3 tablespoons of cocoa instead of the amount listed in the recipe and it provides just right amount of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We made this recipe in my culinary class and in my opinion this is the best red velvet cupcake that I've had in a while. The cupcakes were so moist, and it had a "melt in your mouth" sensation. All of this is coming from a person that used to didn't like red velvet cupcakes, but this recipe will make you just fall in love with red velvet cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is a good red velvet cupcake recipe. Tasted good. The cake was light but could be a bit lighter. And even with a whole 1 oz bottle of food coloring, the cake was still dark and not a bright red color. I'm willing to sacrifice color if that slightly extra cocoa flavor adds an extra yum factor to the flavor. Would have to try other recipes to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These had a good flavor but had a (too much food coloring) aftertaste. I might try with less food coloring and see if the color is to compromised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
These were good. I didn't have buttermilk so I used heavy whipping cream and put about a teaspoon of vinegar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
It was an easy recipe to follow, I couldn't wait and ate one without the frosting. It was ok, not like the bakery, they were good, but nothing to write about. Perhaps they will be better with the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tritzilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States