Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! Very light and fluffy!! Normally when I make a Red Velvet cake it always seems to come out a bit dry and dense not These!!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Way too much cocoa. I followed the original recipe exactly. It tastes like chocolate cake, not red velvet cake. I would cut the cocoa in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was good but not the red velvet taste I was looking for. It tastes very chocolatey so I do suggest reducing the amount of cocoa. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I use this recipe in a coffee shop and it is a big hit. Now my family is using the recipe and getting great responses. I like this red velvet because it is moist and has great flavor. I had a difficult time finding a recipe that didn't seem a bit on the dry side. Very good and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Welch, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Good flavor and good texture. Batter was pretty scary looking before adding in the flour/cocoa but they turned out well. Rose nicely and were great with some cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great all together I used a whipped cream cream cheese with coconut icing and they were to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Diamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Fagan
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
First time I have ever made red velvet, so I wasn't too sure what to expect. Followed the recipe as written and mine turned out more reddish brown than the red I was expecting. They were very light, moist and tasty though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Fagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
this recipe is great! I use it all the time. You can aslo just add some more vanilla and take away the red food colouring and it becomes a delicious choclate cupcake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathrina
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This is my first time to bake red velvet cupcake. It was so moist and not so sweet! Just perfect for our taste buds! I followed the other reviewers suggestion to reduce the cocoa to tbsp and added another oz liquid food color to add vibrancy to the mixture. I also added another tbsp of vanilla. Since I don't have buttermilk on hand I substitute 1cup of milk and a tbsp of white vinegar. Let it sit for 5-10 minutes and voila, instant buttermilk! I will surely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Much too much chocolate, and mine came out a little dry. The flavor was okay, but not what I was expecting for red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Zangos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States