Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
NB: cut the cocoa back to 2 T Frosting: 1/2c. of unsalted butter (softened) 2- 8oz. packs of cream cheese (softened) 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar 1 tbsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RetroMom
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this for a thing at my daughter's school and it came out pretty great! I would add a little more red color next time and I thought they were a little bit too dense, but my husband loved them and thought they were perfect. I would definitely make again, but I think I will sift the flour and see if that lightens them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Disappointed in these cupcakes! Very dry. Not sure what I could have done differently to change the outcome. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My 8 year old son's favorite cake is red velvet cake and this is the recipe I use every year for his birthday. This makes wonderful red velvet cupcakes. I use buttercream frosting to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
they are the best cupcakes i've ever made... i always make them.. and they are always perfect! Thank-You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arvnoush

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Turned out a little dry. Will try some of the suggestions in the reviews here to refine the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good, flavour is not as 'velvety' as expected, but overall a good cupcake. Iced with a plain vanilla frosting, turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yogakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I followed this recipe to the "T" and it came out so well. my 3yr old daughter loved it, so did I. after failing with many red velvet recipes this was spot on. yeah! i can make red velvet now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe is easy and yummy. I paired it with a butter cream frosting. I ran out of regular red dye and used gel red dye to finish off the oz. The gel red dye is more concentrated so the color was a beautiful deep crimson red. Overall I don't think I'll be buying a box of mix with this recipe. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I just made these cupcakes and I only put half of the food colouring. The cocoa powder and the vinegar react and turn red-brown so the food colouring only enhanced the colour of the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States