Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty good, flavour is not as 'velvety' as expected, but overall a good cupcake. Iced with a plain vanilla frosting, turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yogakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I followed this recipe to the "T" and it came out so well. my 3yr old daughter loved it, so did I. after failing with many red velvet recipes this was spot on. yeah! i can make red velvet now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe is easy and yummy. I paired it with a butter cream frosting. I ran out of regular red dye and used gel red dye to finish off the oz. The gel red dye is more concentrated so the color was a beautiful deep crimson red. Overall I don't think I'll be buying a box of mix with this recipe. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliMasaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I just made these cupcakes and I only put half of the food colouring. The cocoa powder and the vinegar react and turn red-brown so the food colouring only enhanced the colour of the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Fantastic!! Very light and fluffy!! Normally when I make a Red Velvet cake it always seems to come out a bit dry and dense not These!!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Way too much cocoa. I followed the original recipe exactly. It tastes like chocolate cake, not red velvet cake. I would cut the cocoa in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was good but not the red velvet taste I was looking for. It tastes very chocolatey so I do suggest reducing the amount of cocoa. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I use this recipe in a coffee shop and it is a big hit. Now my family is using the recipe and getting great responses. I like this red velvet because it is moist and has great flavor. I had a difficult time finding a recipe that didn't seem a bit on the dry side. Very good and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Welch, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Good flavor and good texture. Batter was pretty scary looking before adding in the flour/cocoa but they turned out well. Rose nicely and were great with some cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great all together I used a whipped cream cream cheese with coconut icing and they were to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States