Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I have now made this recipe 3 times, putting slightly less butter and a spoonful or two of applesauce. I also increase the cocoa powder by about 1 tbsp, increase vanilla and sub real buttermilk with a vinegar milk mixture. They get rave reviews. My boyfriend said "These are the BEST cupcakes you've ever made!", and I make a LOT of cupcakes :) Last time I put a dollop of chocolate ganache frosting on top then cover it with buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
i like the cupcake because it is not too sweet but it didn't turn red since i was using the liquid coloring! pls advise! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I will try to make these cute cupcake for this coming Easter . Thank you much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charisma09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Terrific cupcakes. Glad I read through reviews that said to persevere when seeing how icky/glumpy the batter looked before adding the flour. It did not look promising to me, but the end result delivered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kendrapreston
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These turned out pretty Good. Nice flavor texture and perfectly moist. only thing is they ended up A lot darker then I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendrapreston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Turned out moist and delicious! I substituted the butermilk for milk and vinegar like doublepisces suggested, and used powdered red food coloring. It was just as red as the picture; I saved the recipe because it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Yummy, light and moist on the inside, just a little crisp on the outside. Topped them with cream cheese frosting. My family loved them, and they're quite pretty. The amount of food coloring freaked me out, but I guess that is to be expected for a red cupcake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These were amazing! I love making things from scratch and having them come out way better than any mix could do. I made these for Valentines day for my boyfriend and he loved them. I used the "1 tbsp of vinegar in a measuring cup and fill with milk to the 1 cup line and let sit for 5 min" thing for a substitute for buttermilk. It did make 24 decent sized cupcakes and I frosted them with white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious cupcakes! Soft, moist, light and just perfect amount of chocolate flavour! Thank you!!! Mine made 24 regular sized cupcakes. Just in time for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My cupcakes are moist, tender, and tasty. My only issue is that they look more like pink devil's food, rather than red velvet, and I had cut the cocoa to 1/4 cup. I would make this again, but reduce the cocoa to a tablespoon or two, and increase the red colouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States