Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LearningByYourCooking
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Thank you for this! Your recipe is a huge hit at bbq's and potlucks. I found a picture, I had a helper!(note the iced green squiggly one!) you can sort of see the cupcake but more the icing.. I didn't have cocoa powder so I used a little hot chocolate mix (I know probably not recommended). I also only had rice vinegar, so I used a smaller amount. I also was out of vanilla so I substituted with almond extract. I ran out of red food coloring so they weren't very red, more pinkish haha but they still tasted amazing! I didn't mean to change the recipe so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made a cake with the same ingredients and it was awesome. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These cupcakes had a lovely light texture and nice flavour. I didn't have a full bottle of food colouring so the colour suffered a little, but not much. Used a vanilla cream cheese frosting and these disappeared from the adult table at my daughter's cupcake party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Easy to make, but they didn't have much of a flavour to them. Next time I make, I think I will try adding more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
the recipe was awesome! it was super easy to make. icing it was so fun!!! love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Nice and moist. Very simple and easy to follow. Substituted 1Tbs vinegar to 1 cup milk for the buttermilk as I did not have any on hand. Don't know if the real thing makes a big difference but I was very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
i made this for my little sisters and they didn't really like it at all i also made this for my mother and she said it wasn't that great either (it's not that good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I MADE NO CHANGES. This is one of the truest red velvet recipes I have come across. All ingredients should be at room temp. Especially the buttermilk. I have doubled this recipe at times and made a batch of cupcakes along side a single layer cake- the results were perfect. I bake in a warm climate so room temp is easily acheived, but even if you're baking up north in the dead of winter, wait for your ingredients to get to room temp... Its worth it! Watch your baking times; Always check a red velvet cake mixture 5 minutes out. After that, every 3 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I rated this 2 stars because they didn't turn out very moist, and I don't think they tasted a whole lot like red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States