Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Too much salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Ferreira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krista o'berry
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made these and forgot red food coloring so instead used black. Worked out because the paper cups were black and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krista o'berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Why does my red velvet never turn out red?! This is the second this has happened to me - I used an entire tube of red food gel coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This recipe was a hit with family at Thanksgiving! The only thing I changed was the amount of cocoa. I reduced it to 3 tablespoons and it was perfect. It gave it a hint of chocolate taste but not too much. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made two dozen of these cupcakes for work and had two left at the end of the day! A real show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by malditangsij_364
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Love it! Its my first time to bake and thisbone didn't discourage me to try more recipes to bake. My product turned out so well, fluffy, moist and good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These are awesome! They are the second to best homemade cupcakes. Mine didn't turn out red because I didn't have enough red food coloring but thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I don't really know how a great velvet cake would taste like, .but there is a slight odd bitter taste to this cake, I am not sure if my food colouring is too much or perhaps the cocoa is too much hence causing a stronger chemical reaction wit the vinegar like what some of the readers wrote. The texture of the cake is good, moist and airy. The cake looks good. I managed to savage the taste by piping cream cheese frosting into the center of cupcake hence balancing it. Maybe will do more research before making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
As per other reviewers, I cut back on the cocoa and used only 3 tbs. I also added 3 tbs applesauce and it was awesome. Not too sweet, perfect by itself or with frosting for those with a sweet tooth. I handmixed them and baked them in a toaster oven for 18-20 mins. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I tried this recipe i loved it cause its moist..my families and friends says its taste good..but some of my friends ask me to make its sponges but i dont know how coz im only bigginer bakers anyone can help me how to make its sponge..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States