Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made these this afternoon to take to my doctor's office in the morning. First, let me say that this is my second time trying this recipe. Secondly, I tweaked it just a bit. First go round they seemed a bit dry to me. I bake for a lot of people so I could not be delivering "dry" goods. That being said....I made the following changes. I increased the butter to 3/4 cup and I used 2 jumbo eggs. I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and mixed it in with the buttermilk. The vinegar I poured over the baking soda before I added it. The rest of the directions were followed as is. They smelled wonderful and tasted even better. My daughter ate 2 of them before they could cool. These are keepers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
The cupcakes were good but quite dense . I expected them to be lighter and fluffier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have been using a Recipe for red velvet cake that has been good, but not great. This recipe is moist and chocolatey and is perfect the way it is. No need to change a thing! This is my new go-to for red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is my first time making red velvet cupcakes! I followed the recipe and it came out perfectly! I made them as mini cupcakes. This recipe makes about 70! I only had to bake them for 15 minutes! Everyone loved it! They were all gone! I topped them with Jenni Cream Cheese Frosting II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made it exactly as is and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I TELL YOU ON SUNDAY. I NEED THEM ON TUESDAY, FOR MY PATCHWORK CLASS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
By far my favorite cupcake recipe! I use it for everything! I don't put red food coloring in because I don't find it necessary and I make my own buttermilk with 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Everyone loves them and they're perfect for school bake sales, birthdays and just for fun. A very simple and great recipe. Goes great with strawberry cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I kind of found these just okay. I added the amount of food coloring as recommended but the muffins ended up brown instead of red. I'm not sure if I was expecting something different perhaps, but the flavor was nothing special. The icing I put on them added the extra kick they needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Yet another supposed slow cooker recipe that does not use a slow cooker. I'm considering unsubscribing from the AllRecipes Slow Cooker newsletter, since I now have trouble getting a recipe there that actually uses a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pavilkey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Instead of cream cheese frosting, I use the original frosting recipe, which is: 1 cup milk mixed with 3 tablespoons flour and a dash of salt; cook until bubbly and thick; let cool. Meanwhile, mix 1 cup sugar and 1 cup butter; beat until smooth, approximately 7 minutes; add cooled flour mixture a little at a time, until all is incorporated. Add 1 tsp. vanilla. Frost cake or cupcakes as usual. This recipe makes enough frosting for 36 cupcakes or one regular cake. Everybody wants this frosting on my red velvet cakes/cupcakes. Even my picky son-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States